heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Paanajärvi

"Paanajärvi, will your revival ever come? Paanajärvi, it's a pity that your noble glow has passed the poetic looks of Ludvig Runeberg, Zachris Topelius or Lars Stenbäck! It could give birth to the greatest northern hymn that would survive in centuries... Farewell, Paanajärvi... the charming Polar star, the royal brilliant of Kuusamo"
Kianto, 1915

First people arrived to Paanajärvi region in 5-6 millenium BC. The ancient population lived by gathering, hunting and fishing. The stone instruments and pottery, found on the shores of Paanajärvi and Pääjärvi Lakes, testify that. The stone chisel, found by peasants in XIX-th century, is now at the exposition of Helsinki museum. After to war there were found 15 ancient stays of different eras (from stone to iron ages).

In the mediaeval times the Paanajärvi region was inhabited by Saami tribes. The worship stones on Kivakka and Nuorunen Mountains are monuments of those times. During road construction near Tavajärvi Lake there was found a buried treasure of Saami silver decorations of XI-XII centuries AD. There are also written mediaeval evidence telling that Paanajärvi - Pääjärvi region was inhabited by Saami from ancient times.

In XII-first half of XV centuries AD Paanajärvi region, as the whole Northern Lapland, was under the rule of Great Novgorod Principality. In 1595 Paanajärvi, as earlier some other Novgorod lands, that became practically "nobody's lands" after ravage of Novgorod by Moscow Prince Ivan III, became the part of Swedish Kingdom.

At first Finns were forbidden to settle at the region. At the same time constant wars between Sweden and Russia forced Karelians to run from Russian part of Karelia to more quiet forests around Pääjärvi and Paanajärvi. For example Sirkeinen (Sergeev) family came to Paanajärvi from Kostamus.

The year 1673 became decisive for the Paanajärvi region. This year the King of Sweden opened the Lapland for new settlment and newcomers were given 15-year tax redemption. In 1769 first Finnish family settled near Paanajärvi. Finn Termänen bought from Karelian Maronov the Kallioniemi farm, that was built at the western part of the lake some 60 years before.

During XVI-XVII centuries Saami were driven to the north. By the end of XVIII century there were five Finnish farms in Paanajärvi region - four in the Swedish side and one on Russian territory.

After the end of a raw of Russian-Swedish wars, by 1809 Peace Treaty, Paanajärvi together with the rest of Finland became a part of Russian Empire. At that time there were around 60 inhabitants in Paanajärvi village.

Finland had exclusive autonomy status within Russian Empire with internal laws sometime quite different from those in the rest of Russia.

After demarcation of the border between Russia and Finnish Autonomous Grand Duchy done in 1842 and 1849 the whole Paanajärvi Lake and nearby territories were attributed to Finland.

During XIX century the population practically had not increased. The five years of poor harvest in succession in 1830's, lack of any harvest in 1867 and a raw of epidemics, coming from the east, prevented any growth of population. In 1868-1870 many inhabitants left Paanajärvi. Only at the end of the century some growth could be seen - almost 450 people inhabited the village.

The Paanajärvi region is generally favorable for agriculture. In the best years the crop was enough not only for living but for sale too. The were a mill at Mäntykoski. Almost all villagers had reindeers.

In 1890 there started forest cutting. Russian Rusanov Forestry Company opened an office in Rajala. The wood was floated by Olanga River.

At the edge of centuries Paanajärvi became popular tourists attraction. Almost 1000 guests visited the lake region every year. Akseli Gallen (in a future a great Finnish artist Akseli Gallen-Kallela) and a well-known photographer Into Konrad Inha were among them. The paintings "The little shepherd from Paanajärvi", "The black woodpecker", "Mäntykoski Rapids" and some sketches were created by Gallen in the summer 1892 during his stay their. The photos by Inha saved to us the views of Paanajärvi at the end of XIX century. In July 1914 Paanajärvi was visited by the writer Ilmari Kianto.

In 1905 there was build a school - the second school in Kuusamo county. In 1906 there stasted a road construction from the south Vuotunki to Paanajärvi.

In December 1917 Finland became independent. Finnish-Russian border was closed and traditional trade links to White See region were broken.

During 1920-th the road from Vuotunki was improved and Paanajärvi became accessible by car. This gave the new impulse to business activity. In 1926 there were opened a bank office and medical center.

In 1934 the new road from the north Liikasenvaara was built, letting to open the tourist roundtrip "The Bear's Circle".

The weather conditions in the 30-th were exclusively favorable for agriculture. The unseen ever crop of rye and even of wheat was gotten.

In 1936 a sawmill was built by Leino. It gave work to 25-30 local inhabitants. The number of tourists increased. A touring boat was cruising the lake. In 1937 the church was built.

Paanajärvi village was best to do in Kuusamo county. It has a church, three schools, a post office, a bank, four shops, medical center, police and boarder guard offices. The population reached 738. Sixty one farms were situated nearby. The main living source was agriculture.

The news about Soviet attack on Finland came in the evening, November 30-th, 1939. The next day all the inhabitants were ordered to evacuate to Kuusamo. Children and women were the first to leave. All the cattle was killed and almost all the buildings were burned down.

After the Winter War 165340 hectares of the territory around Paanajärvi Lake was attributed to Soviet Union. More than 2100 inhabitants became refugees.

Soon after military actions resumed the bigger part of Paanajärvi was freed and by the summer 1942 most of the refugees returned to their smouldering ruins. The ruins began to recover. The sawmill at Rajala started to work again.

In June 1944 the military situation worsened and children and women were evacuated. Soviet troops reached Paanajärvi in the beginning of the autumn and by September 4-th had overcome the opposition of German garrison. In the next day all the inhabitants were ordered to leave within 24 hours. The potato crop was left in the ground.

By Moscow Peace Treaty (September 14-th 1944) Paanajärvi once again becomes Soviet territory and almost for half a century only boarder guards inhabit it.

In Soviet times the water level in Pääjärvi was raised some 10 meters and the remnants of all the villages around it (including Oulangansuu) are now under the water.

In the second half of 1980s there originated plans to use Paanajärvi lake as a reservoir for hydro-accumulating power station and to build a big (for 300 000 visitors a year) mountain-skiing tourist center on the Nuorunen Mountain. To fulfill these plans it was necessary to build a road linking Nuorunen Mountain with Finnish territory and a power line from settlement Pääjärvi. But wide public protest does not allow to implement those projects.

In 1992 The Paanajärvi National Park was organized.

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Паанаярви

"Паанаярви - наступит ли когда-нибудь твое возрождение? Паанаярви - мне жаль тебя из-за того, что твое благородное сияние прошло мимо поэтического взора Людвига Рунеберга, Сакариуса Топелиуса или Ларса Стенбака! Оно родило бы величайший северный гимн, который пережил бы столетия... Прощай Паанаярви... завораживающая Полярная звезда, королевский бриллиант Куусамо"
Кианто, 1915

Первые люди появились в Паанаярви в 5-6 тысячелетиях до нашей эры. Древнейшее население Паанаярви занималось собирательством, охотой и рыболовством. Об этом свидетельствуют каменные инструменты и глиняная посуда, обнаруженные на берегах озер Паанаярви и Пяозеро. Найденное крестьянами в конце XIX века каменное долото хранится в Национальном музее в Хельсинки. В послевоенный период на берегах Пяозера было обнаружено 15 древних стоянок различных эпох (от каменного до железного веков).

Ко временам средневековья район озера Паанаярви заселяли саамские племена. Памятниками этой эпохи являются культовые комплексы на горах Нуорунен и Кивакка. При строительстве дороги у озера Таваярви был найден клад саамских серебряных украшений XI - XII веков. Имеются и письменные средневековые источники, свидетельствующие о том, что саамы издревле заселяли район Паанаярви - Пяозера.

В XII - XIV веках район Паанаярви, как и вся северная Лапландия, входил в состав Великого Княжества Новгородского. В 1595 году Паанаярви, ставшее практически бесхозным после разгрома Новгорода Иваном III, вошло в состав Королевства Швеции.

Первоначально новые финские поселения на этой территории были запрещены. В то же самое время постоянные войны вынуждали карельское население оставлять пределы России и переселяться в более спокойные леса в окрестностях Пяозера и Паанаярви. Так, например, род Сиркейнена (Сергеева) переселился на Паанаярви из Костамукши.

Решающим в деле освоения территории Паанаярви был 1673 год, когда королевским постановлением Лапландия была открыта для нового заселения и переселенцам было предоставлено пятнадцатилетнее освобождение от всех налогов. В 1769 году на Паанаярви появилось первое финское поселение. Финн Тэрмянен приобрел у карела Маронова существовавшее к тому времени уже около 60 лет хозяйство Каллиониэми в западном конце озера.

В течении XVI - XVII веков саамы были оттеснены на север. К концу XVIII столетия на Паанаярви насчитывалось уже пять финских хозяйств, четыре из которых находились в пределах шведского государства, а одно - на территории России.

По окончании полосы русско-шведских войн, согласно мирному договору 1809 года, Паанаярви вместе со всей остальной Финляндией стало частью Российской Империи. К этому времени в деревне проживало не более 60 человек.

В 1842 и в 1849 годах производились уточнения границы между Россией и Автономным Великим княжеством Финляндским, в результате чего озеро Паанаярви целиком оказалось на территории Финляндии.

На протяжении почти всего XIX века численность населения практически не росла. Этому препятствовали и пять прошедших подряд неурожайных лет в тридцатые годы и страшный неурожай 1867 года и эпидемии, приходившие с востока. В 1868 - 1870 годах многие жители покинули Паанаярви. И только к концу столетия наметился подъем - в деревне жило около уже около 450 человек.

Местность в Паанаярви была благоприятной для земледелия. В лучшие годы зерна хватало не только для собственных нужд, но и на продажу. Мололи зерно на мельнице Мянтюкоски. Почти все жители имели оленей.

C 1890 начались рубки леса. Российская лесопромышленная компания Русанова открыла в Раяла свою контору. Сплав леса шел по реке Оланга.

На рубеже XIX - XX веков Паанаярви стал популярным туристическим центром. Ежегодное число гостей достигало 1000 человек. В их числе - Аксель Галлен (будущий великий финский художник Аксели Галлен-Каллела) и знаменитый фотограф Инто Конрад Инха. Полотна "Пастушок из Паанаярви", "Черный дятел", "Мянтюкоски" и многочисленные эскизы были созданы Галленом летом 1892 года в ходе его поездки. Фотографии, сделанные Инха, сохранили для нас Паанаярви конца XIX столетия. В июле 1914 года на Паанаярви побывал и писатель Илмари Кианто.

В 1905 году была открыта школа - вторая по счету в округе Куусамо. В 1906 году началось строительство дороги с юга из Вуотунки в Паанаярви.

В декабре 1917 года Финляндия обрела независимость. Финско-российская граница закрылась на замок, прервались традиционные торговые связи с Беломорьем.

К середине 1920-х годов дорога из Вуотунки была улучшена, в Паанаярви смогли ходить автомобили и хозяйственная деятельность заметно оживилась. В 1926 году открылись отделение банка и медпункт.

В 1934 году с севера через Лийкасенваара была построена дорога, открывшая сквозной туристический маршрут - "Медвежий круг".

Погодные условия в 1930-х годах были на редкость благоприятными. Были получены невиданные ранее урожаи ржи и даже пшеницы.

В 1936 году был построен лесопильный завод Лейно, дававший работу 25-30 местным жителям. Увеличилось число прибывающих туристов, для них на озере ходил катер. В 1937 году была сооружена церковь.

Деревня Паанаярви была одной из самых зажиточных в округе Куусамо. В ней имелись церковь, три школы, четыре магазина, почта, банк, медпункт, кладбище, полиция и пограничная застава. Население составляло 738 человек. Вокруг располагалось шестьдесят одно крестьянское хозяйство. Основными занятиями населения оставались земледелие и животноводство.

Известие о нападении Советского Союза пришло в Паанаярви вечером 30 ноября 1939 года, а на следующий день всем жителям было приказано эвакуироваться в Куусамо. В первую очередь вывозили женщин и детей. Весь скот пришлось забить. Практически все дома и строения были сожжены.

По окончании Зимней войны территория в 165340 гектаров вокруг Паанаярви отошла к Советскому Союзу. Более чем 2100 жителей остались беженцами.

Вскоре после возобновления боевых действий территория Паанаярви была возвращена и к лету 1942 года большая часть беженцев вернулась на родные пепелища. Началось восстановление разрушенного. Заработала пилорама в Раяла.

В июне 1944 из-за резкого ухудшения военной обстановки были эвакуированы женщины и дети. Советские войска достигли Паанаярви в начале осени и к 4 сентября 1944 сломили сопротивление немецкого гарнизона. На следующий день оставшимся жителям было приказано уехать в течение 24 часов. Неубранный картофель остался в земле.

По договору от 19 сентября 1944 года Паанаярви вновь отходит к СССР. Территория почти на полвека остается исключительно местом проживания пограничников.

В советское время уровень воды в Пяозере был поднят на 10 метров. В результате осуществления этой гидротехнической идеи под водой оказались все прибрежные деревни, в том числе Олангансуу.

Во второй половине 1980-х годов возникли планы превратить озеро Паанаярви в водохранилище гидроаккумулирующей электростанции, а на горе Нуорунен соорудить крупный горнолыжный туристический центр, рассчитанный на 300 тысяч человек в год. Для этого намечалось проложить дорогу, связывающую Нуорунен с территорией Финляндии, и протянуть линию электропередачи от поселка Пяозерский. Все эти проекты так и не были осуществлены из-за резкого противодействия со стороны общественности.

С 1992 года в Паанаярви действует национальный природный парк.

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen