heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Olonets Commemorative Medal

1923. Olonets Commemorative Medal

In 1923 the Karelian Temporary National Liberation Government-in-exile instituted the Olonets Commemorative Medal. It was awarded to all participants of the liberation battles in 1919 in Olonets Karelia, as well to those who actively contributed to them.

Circular bronze medal was created by Finnish artist Ilmari Wirkkala. The face size within a ring inscribed ‘Not in Words, but in Deeds’. The reverse size inscribed ‘On behalf of Olonets 1919’. The diameter of the Commemorative medal is 28 millimetres. The medal is attached to a black ribbon with a red stripe in the middle.

The number of awards by the Olonets Commemorative Medal was about 3500 people. On September 6, 1927, the President of the Republic of Finland Lauri Kristian Relander confirmed that the medal can be worn on the military uniform of the country's Defence Forces.

Olonets Commemorative Medal Olonets Commemorative Medal
Olonets Commemorative Medal Olonets Commemorative Medal

© 1997–2018
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Медаль в память Олонецкого похода

1923 год. Медаль в память Олонецкого похода

В 1923 году Временное правительство национального освобождения Карелии (в изгнании) приняло решение об учреждении медали в память Олонецкого похода. Она вручалась всем непосредственным участникам освободительных боёв 1919 года в Олонецкой Карелии, а равно тем, кто активно им способствовал.

Круглая бронзовая медаль была создана финским художником Илмари Вирккала. На лицевой стороне по окружности расположена надпись «Не словом, но делом». На оборотной стороне – «На стороне Олонца 1919». Диаметр памятной медали – 28 миллиметров. Медаль крепится к чёрной ленте с красной полосой посередине.

Количество награждений медалью в память Олонецкого похода составило порядка трёх с половиной тысяч человек. 6 сентября 1927 года президент Финляндской республики Лаури Кристиан Реландер подтвердил право ношения медали на мундире оборонительного ведомства страны.

Медаль в память Олонецкого похода Медаль в память Олонецкого похода
Медаль в память Олонецкого похода Медаль в память Олонецкого похода

© 1997–2018
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen