heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Secret Additional Protocol

On the occasion of the signature of the Nonaggression Pact between the German Reich and the Union of Socialist Soviet Republics the undersigned plenipotentiaries of each of the two parties discussed in strictly confidential conversations the question of the boundary of their respective spheres of influence in Eastern Europe. These conversations led to the following conclusions:

1. In the event of a territorial and political rearrangement in the areas belonging to the Baltic States (Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania), the northern boundary of Lithuania shall represent the boundary of the spheres of influence of Germany and the U.S.S.R. In this connection the interest of Lithuania in the Vilna area is recognized by each party.

2. In the event of a territorial and political rearrangement of the areas belonging to the Polish state the spheres of influence of Germany and the U.S.S.R. shall be bounded approximately by the line of the rivers Narew, Vistula, and San.

The question of whether the interests of both parties make desirable the maintenance of an independent Polish state and how such a state should be bounded can only be definitely determined in the course of further political developments.

In any event both Governments will resolve this question by means of a friendly agreement.

3. With regard to Southeastern Europe attention is called by the Soviet side to its interest in Bessarabia. The German side declares; its complete political disinterestedness in these areas.

4. This protocol shall be treated by both parties as strictly secret.


Moscow, August 23, 1939

For the Government of the German Reich: von Ribbentrop
Plenipotentiary of the Government of the USSR: V.Molotov

Copies
Photos
Resolution of the Congress of People’s Deputies of the USSR

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Секретный дополнительный протокол

При подписании Договора о ненападении между Германией и Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик нижеподписавшиеся уполномоченные обеих сторон обсудили в строго конфиденциальном порядке вопрос о разграничении сфер обоюдных интересов в Восточной Европе. Это обсуждение привело к нижеследующему результату:

1. В случае территориально-политического переустройства областей, входящих в состав Прибалтийских государств (Финляндия, Эстония, Латвия, Литва), северная граница Литвы одновременно является границей сфер интересов Германии и СССР. При этом интересы Литвы по отношению Виленской области признаются обеими сторонами.

2. В случае территориально-политического переустройства областей, входящих в состав Польского Государства, граница сфер интересов Германии и СССР будет приблизительно проходить по линии рек Нарева, Вислы и Сана.

Вопрос, является ли в обоюдных интересах желательным сохранение независимого Польского Государства и каковы будут границы этого государства, может быть окончательно выяснен только в течение дальнейшего политического развития.

Во всяком случае, оба Правительства будут решать этот вопрос в порядке дружественного обоюдного согласия.

3. Касательно юго-востока Европы с советской стороны подчеркивается интерес СССР к Бессарабии. С германской стороны заявляется о ее полной политической незаинтересованности в этих областях.

4. Этот протокол будет сохраняться обеими сторонами в строгом секрете.


Москва, 23 августа 1939 года

По уполномочию Правительства СССР: В.Молотов
За Правительство Германии: Риббентроп

Копии
Фотографии
Постановление съезда народных депутатов СССР

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen