heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

The Treaty of Peace
between The Republic of Finland
and The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

The Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics on the one hand and The government of the Republic of Finland on the other hand, desiring to put an end to the hostilities which have arisen between the two countries and to create lasting peaceful relations between them, and being convinced that the creation of precise conditions for reciprocal security, including the security of the cities of Leningrad and Murmansk and the Murmansk Railway, corresponds to the interest of both contracting parties, have to this end found it necessary to conclude a peace treaty and have appointed as their representatives for this purpose
The Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Socialist Republics:
Vyacheslav Mikhailovich Molotov, chairman of the Council of People's Commissars of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and People's Commissar for Foreign Affairs,
Andrei Aleksandrovich Zhdanov, member of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics,
Alexander Mikhailovich Vasilevsky, Brigade Commander.
The government of the Republic of Finland:
Risto Ryti, Prime Minister of the Republic of Finland,
Juho Kusti Paasikivi, Minister,
General Rudolf Walden,
Professor Väinö Voionmaa.

The above-mentioned representatives, after exchange of credentials which were found to be in due form and good order, have agreed upon the following:

Article 1

Hostilities between Finland and the USSR shall cease immediately in accordance with procedure laid down in the protocol appended to this treaty.

Article 2

The state frontier between the Republic of Finland and the USSR shall run along a new line in such fashion that there shall be included in the territory of the USSR the entire Karelian Isthmus with the city of Viipuri and Viipuri Bay with its islands, the western and northern shores of Lake Ladoga with the cities of Kexholm and Sortavala and the town of Suojärvi, a number of islands in the Gulf of Finland, the area east of Märkäjärvi with the town of Kuolajärvi, and part of the Rybachi and Sredni peninsulas, all in accordance with the map appended to this treaty.

A more detailed determination and establishment of the frontier line shall be carried out by a mixed commission made up of representatives of the contracting powers, which commission shall be named within ten days from the date of the signing of this treaty.

Article 3

Both contracting parties undertake each to refrain from any attack upon the other and to make no alliance and to participate in no coalition directed against either of the contracting parties.

Article 4

The Republic of Finland agrees to lease to the Soviet Union for thirty years, against an annual rental of eight million Finnish marks to be paid by the Soviet Union, Hanko Cape and the waters surrounding it in a radius of five miles to the south and east and three miles to the north and west, and also the several islands falling within that area, in accordance with the map appended to this treaty, for the establishment of a naval base capable of defending the mouth of the Gulf of Finland against attack; in addition to which, for the purpose of protecting the naval base, the Soviet Union is granted the right of maintaining there at its own expense the necessary number of armed land and air forces.

Within the days from the date this treaty enters into effect, the government of Finland shall withdraw all its military forces from Hanko Cape, which together with its adjoining islands shall be transferred to the jurisdiction of the USSR in accordance with this article of the treaty.

Article 5

The USSR undertakes to withdraw it troops from the Petsamo area which the Soviet state voluntarily ceded to Finland under the peace treaty of 1920.

Finland undertakes, as provided in the peace treaty of 1920, to refrain from maintaining in the waters running along its coast of the Arctic Ocean warships and other armed ships, excluding armed ships of less than one hundred tons displacement, which Finland shall be entitled to maintain without restriction, and also at most fifteen warships or other armed ships, the displacement of none of which shall exceed four hundred tons.

Finland undertakes, as was provided in the same treaty, not to maintain in the said waters any submarines or armed aircraft.

Finland similarly undertakes, as was provided in the same treaty, not to establish on that coast military ports, naval bases, or naval repair shops of greater capacity than is necessary for the above-mentioned ships and their armament.

Article 6

As provided in the treaty of 1920, the Soviet Union and its citizens are granted the right of free transit across the Petsamo area to Norway and back, in addition to which the Soviet Union is granted the right to establish a consulate in the Petsamo area.

Merchandise shipped through the Petsamo area from the Soviet Union to Norway, and likewise merchandise shipped through the same area from Norway to the Soviet Union, is exempted from inspection and control, with the exception of such control as is necessary for the regulation of transit traffic; neither customs duties nor transit or other charges shall be assessed.

The above-mentioned control of transit merchandise shall be permitted only in the form usual in such cases in accordance with established practice in international communications.

Citizens of the Soviet Union who travel through the Petsamo area to Norway and from Norway back to the Soviet Union shall be entitled to free transit passage on the basis of passports issued by the appropriate officials of the Soviet Union.

Observing general directives in effect, unarmed Soviet aircraft shall be entitled to maintain air service between the Soviet Union and Norway via the Petsamo area.

Article 7

The government of Finland grants to the Soviet Union the right of transit for goods between the Soviet Union and Sweden, and, with a view to developing this traffic along the shortest railway route, the Soviet Union and Finland consider it necessary to build, each upon its own territory and insofar as possible in the year 1940, a railway which shall connect Kantalahti (Kandalaksha) with Kemijärvi.

Article 8

Upon the coming into force of this treaty economic relations between the contracting parties shall be restored, and with this end in view the contracting parties shall enter into negotiations for the conclusion of a trade agreement.

Article 9

This treaty of peace shall enter into effect immediately upon being signed, and shall be subject to subsequent ratification.

The exchange of instruments of ratification shall take place within ten days in the city of Moscow.

This treaty has been prepared in two original instruments, in the Finnish and Swedish languages and in Russian, at Moscow this twelfth day of March, 1940.

V.Molotov
A.Zhdanov
A.Vasilevsky
Risto Ryti
J.Paasikivi
R.Walden
Väinö Voionmaa
© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Мирный договор
между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик
и Финляндской Республикой

Президиум Верховного Совета СССР, с одной стороны, и Президент Финляндской Республики, с другой стороны, руководимые желанием прекратить возникшие между обеими странами военные действия и создать прочные взаимные мирные отношения, убежденные, что интересам обеих Договаривающихся Сторон соответствует определение точных условий обеспечения взаимной безопасности, в том числе обеспечения безопасности городов Ленинграда и Мурманска, а также Мурманской железной дороги, признали необходимым заключить в этих целях Мирный Договор и назначили своими уполномоченными
Президиум Верховного Совета СССР:
Молотова Вячеслава Михайловича, Председателя Совета Народных Комиссаров СССР и Народного Комиссара Иностранных Дел,
Жданова Андрея Александровича, члена Президиума Верховного Совета СССР,
Василевского Александра Михайловича, комбрига.
Президент Финляндской Республики:
Рюти Ристо, Председателя Совета Министров Финляндской Республики,
Паасикиви Юхо Кусти, министра,
Вальден Карла Рудольфа, генерала,
Войонмаа Вяйнё, профессора.

Означенные уполномоченные, по взаимном предъявлении своих полномочий, признанных составленными в надлежащей форме и в полном порядке, согласились о нижеследующем:

Статья I

Военные действия между СССР и Финляндией прекращаются немедленно в порядке, предусмотренном прилагаемым к настоящему Договору Протоколом.

Статья II

Государственная граница между СССР и Финляндской Республикой устанавливается по новой линии, по которой в состав территории СССР включаются весь Карельский перешеек с г.Выборгом (Виипури) и Выборгским заливом с островами, западное и северное побережье Ладожского озера с городами Кексгольмом, Сортавала, Суоярви, ряд островов в Финском заливе, территория восточнее Меркярви с городом Куолаярви, часть полуостровов Рыбачьего и Среднего - согласно приложенной к настоящему Договору карте.

Более подробно описание пограничной линии будет установлено смешанной комиссией из представителей Договаривающихся Сторон, каковая комиссия должна быть образована в десятидневный срок со дня подписания настоящего договора.

Статья III

Обе Договаривающиеся Стороны обязуются взаимно воздерживаться от всякого нападения одна на другую и не заключать каких-либо союзов или участвовать в коалициях, направленных против одной из Договаривающихся Сторон.

Статья IV

Финляндская Республика выражает согласие сдать Советскому Союзу в аренду с ежегодной уплатой Советским Союзом 8 миллионов финских марок, сроком на 30 лет, полуостров Ханко и морскую территорию вокруг него, радиусом в 5 миль к югу и востоку и в 3 мили к западу и северу от него, и ряд островов, примыкающих к нему, в соответствии с приложенной картой, - для создания там военно-морской базы, способной оборонять от агрессии вход в Финский залив, причем в целях охраны морской базы Советскому Союзу предоставляется право держать там за свой счет необходимое количество наземных и воздушных вооруженных сил.

Финляндское Правительство в течение десяти дней с момента вступления в силу настоящего Договора выводит с полуострова Ханко все свои войска, и полуостров Ханко вместе с прилегающими островами переходит в управление СССР, в соответствии с настоящей статьей Договора.

Статья V

СССР обязуется вывести свои войска из области Петсамо, добровольно уступленной Финляндии советским государством, согласно Мирному Договору 1920 года.

Финляндия обязуется, как это было предусмотрено Мирным Договором 1920 года, не содержать в водах своего побережья Северного Ледовитого океана военных и прочих вооруженных судов, за исключением вооруженных судов размером меньше 100 тонн, каковые Финляндия имеет право держать без ограничения, а также содержать не более 15 военных и прочих вооруженных судов, тоннаж которых не должен превышать 400 тонн для каждого.

Финляндия обязуется, как это было предусмотрено тем же Договором, не содержать в означенных водах подводных лодок и вооруженных воздушных судов.

Равным образом Финляндия обязуется, как это было предусмотрено тем же Договором, не устраивать на этом побережье военных портов, баз для военного флота и военных ремонтных мастерских объемом больше, чем потребно для упомянутых судов и их вооружения.

Статья VI

Советскому Союзу и его гражданам, как это было предусмотрено Договором 1920 года, предоставляется право свободного транзита через область Петсамо в Норвегию и обратно, причем в области Петсамо Советскому Союзу предоставляется право учреждения консульства.

Грузы, провозимые через область Петсамо из СССР в Норвегию, а равно грузы, провозимые из Норвегии в СССР через ту же область, освобождаются от осмотра и контроля, за исключением лишь контроля, необходимого в видах урегулирования транзитного сообщения, а также не облагаются таможенными пошлинами, транзитными и иными сборами.

Упомянутый выше контроль транзитных грузов допускается лишь в форме, соблюдаемой в таковых случаях по установившимся обычаям международного сообщения.

Граждане СССР, направляющиеся через область Петсамо в Норвегию и обратно из Норвегии в СССР, имеют право свободного транзитного проезда на основании выдаваемых подлежащими советскими органами паспортов.

При соблюдении действующих общих положений советские невооруженные летательные аппараты имеют право поддерживать воздушное сообщение через область Петсамо между СССР и Норвегией.

Статья VII

Финляндское Правительство предоставляет Советскому Союзу право транзита товаров между СССР и Швецией, и в целях развития этого транзита по кратчайшему железнодорожному пути СССР и Финляндия признают необходимым построить, каждая сторона на своей территории, по возможности в течение 1940 года железную дорогу, соединяющую г.Кандалакша с г.Кемиярви.

Статья VIII

По вступлении в силу настоящего Договора возобновляются экономические отношения между Договаривающимися Сторонами, и с этой целью Договаривающиеся Стороны вступят в переговоры для заключения торгового договора.

Статья IX

Настоящий Мирный Договор вступает в силу немедленно по его подписании и подлежит последующей ратификации.

Обмен ратификационных актов будет произведен в течение десяти дней, в г.Москве.

Настоящий Договор составлен в двух оригиналах, на русском, финском и шведском языках каждый, в г.Москве, 12 марта 1940 года.

В.Молотов
А.Жданов
А.Василевский
Ристо Рюти
Ю.Паасикиви
Р.Вальден
Вяйнё Войонмаа
© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen