heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Vepsian language alphabet

Vepsian language did not have a script until the early 1910's. The first attempts to create a Vepsian script were made using the Russian alphabet (Cyrillic).

In the early 1930's, in accordance with the broad latinisation campaign in the USSR (the policy of creation Latin-script based systems for native peoples which did not have a writing system), was created also a Vepsian script based on Latin alphabet.

A a Ä ä B b C c Ç ç D d E e F f G g H h
I i J j K k L l M m N n O o Ö ö P p R r
S s Ş ş T t U u V v Y y Z z Ƶ ƶ ı

At the November 1932 a first Vepsian book – Ezmäne vepsiden azbuk i lugendknig – was published. In total more than 30 books (mostly the elementary school books) were published by Vepsian language until the 1937.

In the late 1930's in the USSR was started the cyrillisation campaign (the policy of convertation of native people's languages to Russian-script based writing systems). In the first half of 1937 a Vepsian language was also converted to Cyrillic using a Russian alphabet without any changes. However, in January 1938, in accordance with the proceeding of the language policy in the USSR, the book publishing by Vepsian language was completely discontinued and earlier published books was destroyed.

At May 1988 only a Vepsian script based on Russian alphabet was accepted by the RSFSR Ministry of education. Nevertheless at the same time was raised the question of the creation of Vepsian script based on Latin alphabet. As result, in April 20, 1989 the council of ministers of the Karelian ASSR officially approved both versions of a Vepsian script – based on Cyrillic and based on Latin.

А а Ӓ ӓ Б б В в Г г Д д E e Ё ё Ж ж З з
И и Й й К к Л л М м Н н О о Ӧ ӧ П п Р р
С с Т т У у Ў ў Ӱ ӱ Ф ф Х х Ц ц Ч ч Ш ш
Щ щ ъ ы ь Э э Ю ю Я я

The first modern Vepsian ABC-book was published in 1991 using a Latin based alphabet. Cyrillic ABC-book was published in the next 1992. It was almost the only book wich use a Vepsian script based on Cyrillic. All textbooks, fiction and periodicals published using a Latin based Vepsian alphabet.

A a B b C c Č č D d E e F f G g H h I i
J j K k L l M m N n O o P p R r S s Š š
Z z Ž ž T t U u V v Ü ü Ä ä Ö ö

Experience has proven that a Vepsian Cyrillic based alphabet remains unclaimed. In March 16, 2007 the government of the Republic of Karelia officially approved for Vepsian language a Latin based Vepsian alphabet of 1989.

© 1997–2018
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Алфавит вепсского языка

До начала 1910-х годов вепсский язык не имел письменности. Первые попытки создания вепсской письменности предпринимались на основе русского алфавита (кириллицы).

В начале 1930-х годов, в рамках проводившейся тогда в СССР широкой кампании латинизации (создание базирующихся на латинском алфавитов для ранее не имевших письменности коренных народов), был разработан вепсский алфавит на основе латиницы.

A a Ä ä B b C c Ç ç D d E e F f G g H h
I i J j K k L l M m N n O o Ö ö P p R r
S s Ş ş T t U u V v Y y Z z Ƶ ƶ ı

В ноябре 1932 года вышла первая вепсская книга – «Ezmäne vepsiden azbuk i lugendknig». Всего до 1937 года на вепсском языке было выпущено более 30 книг, в основном учебников для начальной школы.

В конце 1930-х годов в СССР началась кампания кириллизации национальных письменностей. В первой половине 1937 года был переведён на кириллицу и вепсский язык – для него был без каких-либо изменений использован русский алфавит. Однако уже в январе 1938 года, в связи с дальнейшим изменением национальной политики в СССР, книгоиздание на вепсском было полностью прекращено, а ранее изданные книги уничтожены.

Только в мае 1988 года министерством просвещения РСФСР был одобрен вепсский алфавит на основе кириллицы, однако в то же время встал вопрос о желательности создания вепсской письменности и на основе латиницы. В результате 20 апреля 1989 года совет министров Карельской АССР официально утвердил вепсский алфавит сразу в двух вариантах – на кириллице и на латинице.

А а Ӓ ӓ Б б В в Г г Д д E e Ё ё Ж ж З з
И и Й й К к Л л М м Н н О о Ӧ ӧ П п Р р
С с Т т У у Ў ў Ӱ ӱ Ф ф Х х Ц ц Ч ч Ш ш
Щ щ ъ ы ь Э э Ю ю Я я

Первый современный вепсский букварь на латинице вышел в 1991 году, а букварь на кириллице – в следующем 1992 году. Последний оказался практически единственным вепсским изданием на кириллице. Вся учебная и художественная литература, а также периодические издания предпочли латиницу.

A a B b C c Č č D d E e F f G g H h I i
J j K k L l M m N n O o P p R r S s Š š
Z z Ž ž T t U u V v Ü ü Ä ä Ö ö

Практика показала, что алфавит вепсского языка на основе кириллицы остался невостребованным и 16 марта 2007 года правительство Республики Карелия официально утвердило для вепсского языка использование алфавита образца 1989 года на основе латиницы.

© 1997–2018
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen