heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Its Imperial Majesty the Manifesto issued June 17, 1808 on concerning the union of Finland with the Russian Empire

We, Alexander the First, D.G. Emperor and Autocrat of all the Russias, and so forth, and so forth, and so forth, for Ours' loyal any ranks and civil states inhabitants of the latest annexed Finland.

In accordance with the will of the Almighty, who has blessed Our arms, We have united the province of Finland to the Russian Empire for all time. We have been pleased to observe that the inhabitants of this province have sworn a solemn oath as a pledge of their loyalty and eternal affection for the Russian crown. For Our part We have solemnly undertaken to retain this province which the will of the Almighty has ordained unto Us, unchanged and intact, in an eternal union with the Russian Empire.

The inhabitants of conquered Finland are to be numbered from this time forth amongst the peoples under the sceptre of Russia and with them shall make up the Empire; only the will and resolve of the Almighty can separate them from this great whole. We trust that God in His wisdom, having afforded protection and aid to Our brave warriors in the conquest of this province, will also help Us in the future to preserve it intact.

Inhabitants of Finland! Let this principle be graven in your hearts. Many peoples live in peace and happiness under the protection of Our sceptre. The happiness and welfare of everyone, including you who are now part of Our Empire, is dear to Our heart. In becoming part of Our Empire you have acquired the same rights as other peoples to Our solicitude and benevolence. The ancient laws and privileges of your country shall be solemnly maintained. Furthermore, new opportunities for your diligence and industry lie before you. Under the mighty protection of Russia your agriculture, commerce and other sources of wealth and prosperity will be further stimulated and developed. We shall soon know of your requirements and We shall not refuse you aid and support. Our arms shall defend your frontiers and protect you should an enemy dare to disturb your peace. In return We demand and confidently expect unity, loyalty and absolute obedience.

Inhabitants of Finland! Do not trust the rumours and hearsay which Our and your enemy may seek to spread amongst you; the fate of your country is irrevocably determined. Any futile notion of the possible reinstatement of the former Swedish dominion would therefore not only be a delusion but also a cruelly calculated means of preparing your destruction. Those who allow themselves to be drawn into the spreading of such rumours do so at their own peril.

We are aware that some of your fellow-countrymen are still serving with the Swedish forces and are therefore turning their weapons against you yourselves. Our patience would by now have been exhausted by their procrastination if, moved by sympathy for their helpless families who remain, We had not still shown willingness to accept them as loyal subjects and to erase for ever from Our memory their folly, provided that they hasten home within a period of six weeks from the day of publication of this manifesto. Let them cease to obey and serve an alien power: let them return to the fold of the fatherland: but let them hasten home within the time prescribed, for all repentance thereafter will serve to no avail.

Loyal inhabitants of Finland! Continue in your firm and steadfast devotion to Russia! We have promised to maintain you in an undivided union. Our promise is immutable and assures you for all time of Our Imperial benevolence and good will.

Signed originally by His Emperor Majesty in hand:
Alexander

Countersigned by Minister count Nikolay Rumyantsev.
© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Его Императорского Величества Манифест 17 июня 1808 года о присоединении Финляндии

Божиею милостью, Мы Александр первый Император и Самодержец Всероссийский, и проч., и проч., и проч. Нам верноподданным обывателям новоприсоединенной Финляндии всякого чина и состояния.

По непреложным судьбам Вышнего, благословляющего оружие Наше, присоединив навсегда Финляндию к России, с удовольствием Мы зрели торжественные обеты, обывателями сего края принесенные на верное и вечное их Скипетру Российскому подданство. Вместе с сим восприяли Мы на себя священную обязанность хранить сие достояние, промыслом Нами врученное, во всей его незыблемости и в непременном и вечном с Россиею единстве.

В чреде народов, Скипетру Российскому подвластных и единую Империю составляющих, обыватели новоприсоединенной Финляндии с сего времени восприяли навсегда свое место. От сего великого состава противу воли и предопределений Вышнего ничто отторгнуть их не может. То же самое Провидение, которое споспешествовало храброму воинству Нашему в обладании сей страны, будет покровительствовать Нам в неразрывном ее соблюдении.

Обыватели Финляндии! Да запечатлеются истины сии неизгладимо в сердцах ваших. Под сению престола Нашего покоются многочисленные народы, судьбы их равно сердцу Нашему драгоценны; вступив в состав Империи Нашей, вы приобрели тем самым равные права с ними. Сверьх древних установлений, страны вашей свойственных и свято Нами хранимых, новое поле вашей деятельности и трудолюбию открывается. Под сильным щитом России, земледелие ваше, торговля, промыслы, все источники народного богатства и благосостояния воспримут новую жизнь и расширение. Мы познаем вскоре все ваши нужды и не умедлим простереть вам руку помощи и облегчения. Оружие Наше оградит пределы ваши от всякого к вам прикосновения и отразит все покушения врагов, если бы когда либо возмутить спокойствие ваше они дерзнули. Приверженность, единство и непоколебимая верность есть единое возмездие, коего Мы за все сие от вас требуем и ожидаем несомненно.

Обыватели Финляндии! Да не колеблется внимание ваше слухами и обольщениями, если бы враги наши паче чаяния рассевать их между вами покусились. Судьба страны вашей решена невозвратно. Всякое разглашение о восстановлении шведского над вами владычества было бы тщетное заблуждение, единственно во вред вам устремляемое. Всякая преклонность и приобщение обывателей к таковым внушениям повлекло бы с собой неминуемую им гибель и разорение.

Нам известно, что некоторые соотечественники ваши теперь еще служат в войсках шведских, против вас самих вооружаются. Доселе ожидали Мы с терпением раскаяния их и покорности. Долговременное коснение их полагало уже конец ожиданию Нашему; но преклоняясь к судьбе семейств оставленных ими без призрения, Мы еще готовы принять их как верных подданных Наших и заблуждения их навсегда изгладить из памяти Нашей, если в течение шестинедельного срока, считая со дня обнародования сего манифеста Нашего, поспешат они возвратиться. Да престанут они отныне работать чуждой власти. Да возвратятся в недра своего отечества, но да возвратятся немедленно в назначаемый срок. По прошествии оного и раскаяния их не будет уже места.

Верные обыватели Финляндии! Будьте тверды и непоколебимы в преданности вашей к России. Слово Наше о сохранении вас в единстве есть непреложно и Мы всегда Императорскою Нашею милостью пребудем вам благосклонны.

На подлинном подписано собственной Его Императорского Величества рукой тако:
Александр

Контрассигновано: министр граф Николай Румянцев.
© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen