heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Burning of the bridge over the Onda river

The men marched from Rugozero Village to Ondozero, held a common meeting in the village and recruited as many volunteers as they could find weapons in the village. From Ondozero they then went to Kuchezero Village, from there through the thick forest to Kirasozero Village, from where they again followed the Onda River towards their destination.

After difficult travel, a group arrived at a bridge over the Onda River. For a long time the Karelians observed the environment, the soldiers guarding the bridge suspected nothing. One guard walked on the bridge in turn, the others were housed in two railway wagons that had been removed from rails and located near railroad. When, by chance, the guard went to the wagon with his cigarette to ask fire, the Karelians attacked the bridge, surrounded the wagons and demanded that the bridge guards surrender. The total number of the guards was sixteen men. Of course, the guard did not surrender, but tried to resist. At that time, the Karelians fired two volleys at the wagons, as a result two Russians were killed and one was wounded. The guards then surrendered. The wounded was the commander of guard.

Karelian medical soldier bandaged wounded commissar.

Now began the destruction of bridge using the meager tools that the Karelian guerrillas were equipped with. On both sides of the bridge, guerrilla patrols rushed four miles away to break the railroad, to give the main forces safely time for their main work. They had one wrench only. The second patrol had to use crowbar to shift the rails aside.

The carrying bombs were wet and did not explode. And there would have been too few to destroy the whole bridge.

Therefore, the bridge had to be burned.

The Russians, who were Siberians, helped the guerrillas burn. Right from the start, they advised to use two barrels of creosote from their warehouse, itself rolled it onto the bridge, and smeared the top of bridge by this highly flammable substance.

Guerrillas cut down and twigs in the forest, as well as all the telephone and telegraph poles nearby, carried all to the bridge, and soon a powerful flame blazing.

The attack to bridge took place in early night.

But in the hasty bustle, the wounded commissar was forgotten. He saw the suitable opportunity and, faithful to his idea, fled to report what had happened at the nearest station.

When bridge had burned down to the water level and the nearby located spare bridge parts were largely destroyed, an armored train arrived from the North, as close as the damaged railway allowed.

Karelians had to hastily retreat. They completed their mission and did not want to fight against a unit of unknown size.

The Russian soldiers of the bridge guard wanted to join guerrillas, but the Karelians could not accept them. Guerrilla commander’s response to their alarmed requests was: ”We don't need the Russians, go wherever you want.”

After taking their weapons and other equipment, the guerrillas began to withdraw.

Russian bridge guards were left waiting for their fate without weapons and without a guarded bridge. Later, a military tribunal sentenced them all to be shot.

After the Karelians had reached a short distance from the railroad, their rear patrol noticed the Russian cavalry on the railway embankment. There were about 150 horsemen. The cavalry had tried to chase, but in poorly frozen swamps and an unknown thick forest stopped their futile attempts soon.

On the back way, guerrillas spent the night in the Kuchezero Village, and the next morning continued on their way via the Kalliolahti Village to the Korguba Village.

Part of the detachment separated from the Korguba Village to the Elova Gora Village, and the main forces moved in the direction of the Tunguda Village.

The burning of the bridge was a significant achievement for the guerrillas. If there presented opportunity to quickly destroy several bridges on the Murmansk railway, the Russians most likely would leave the White Sea Karelia to the Karelians, without trying to defend it until they could concentrate large forces.

The Russians, on the other hand, due to the destruction of the bridge, got to see numerous and prolonged difficulties in rebuilding of bridge and in dragging of military equipment over this river.

At the first opportunity guerrillas tried to destroy the other bridges, but Russian troops guarded its in such large numbers of men and so strictly that all the attempts of the guerrilla parties were in vain.

Were made attempts to disrupt the construction of a bridge over the Onda River, but its did not caught a significant delay for the Russians.



Ilmarinen
Memories of the Commander of the Forest Guerrillas
II. Fighting in Karelia
1931

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Сожжение моста через реку Онда

Повстанцы проследовали из деревни Ругозера в Ондозеро, провели в деревне общее собрание и присоединили к себе столько добровольцев, для скольких в деревне нашлось оружие. Из Ондозера они направились затем в деревню Кучезеро, оттуда через чащобу в деревню Кирасозеро, откуда, вновь следуя по реке Онда, до своей основной цели.

Пройдя этот нелёгкий путь, группа прибыла к мосту через реку Онда. Карелы долго наблюдали за окрестностями, охранявшие мост солдаты ни о чём не догадывались. Один часовой расхаживал в свою смену по мосту, остальные размещались в двух расположенных рядом с путями снятых с рельсов железнодорожных вагонах. Когда наконец единственный караульный подошёл к вагону чтобы прикурить свою самокрутку, карелы атаковали мост, окружили вагоны и потребовали от охраны моста сдаться. Общая численность караульных составляла шестнадцать человек. Разумеется, часовой не сдался, а попытался оказать сопротивление. Тогда карелы произвели два залпа по вагонам, в результате чего двое русских были убиты и один ранен. После этого караул сдался. Раненым оказался начальник караула.

Карельский санитар перевязал раненого комиссара.

Теперь началось разрушение моста тем скудным инструментом, которым были оснащены карельские партизаны. По обе стороны моста партизанские патрули спешили разрушить путь на расстоянии четырёх километров, чтобы дать главным силам время безопасно выполнить основную работу. У них был только один гаечный ключ. Второму патрулю пришлось использовать лом, чтобы изогнуть рельсы в сторону.

Имевшиеся с собой бомбы промокли и не взорвались. И их было бы слишком мало для разрушения всего моста.

Поэтому мост пришлось сжечь.

Русские, которые были сибиряками, помогли партизанам с поджогом. Они с самого начала посоветовали использовать две бочки с креозотом со своего склада, сами выкатили их на мост и обмазали верхние части моста этим легковоспламеняющимся веществом.

Партизаны срубили в лесу деревья и кусты, а также все находившиеся поблизости телефонные и телеграфные столбы, оттащили их к мосту, и вскоре разгорелось мощное пламя.

Нападение на мост произошло в начале ночи.

Но в поспешной суете забыли о раненом комиссаре. Он улучил подходящую возможность и, верный своей идее, сбежал, чтобы сообщить о случившемся на ближайшей станции.

Когда как мост сгорел до уровня воды и находившиеся поблизости запасные мостовые части были в значительной степени уничтожены, с севера подошёл бронепоезд, приблизившийся настолько, настолько позволил повреждённый железнодорожный путь.

Карелы пришлось спешно отойти. Они выполнили свою задачу и не захотели вступать в бой с подразделением неизвестной численности.

Русские солдаты из охраны моста просились к партизанам, но карелы не могли их принять. Ответ командира на их встревоженные просьбы был таков: «Нам не нужны русские, идите, куда хотите».

Забрав собой их оружие и другое снаряжение, партизаны начали отходить.

Русские из охраны моста остались ожидать своей участи без оружия и без охранявшегося ими моста. Позднее военный трибунал приговорил их всех к расстрелу.

После того, как карелы отошли на небольшое расстояние от железной дороги, их тыловой патруль заметил на железнодорожной насыпи русскую конницу. Всадников было около 150. Кавалерия попыталась организовать преследование, но на плохо промёрзших болотах и в незнакомой чаще они вскоре прекратила свои тщетные попытки.

На обратной дороге партизаны переночевали в деревне Кучезеро, а на следующее утро продолжили путь через деревню Каллиолахти в деревню Коргуба.

Часть отряда направилась из деревни Коргуба в деревню Елова гора, а основные силы двинулась в направлении деревни Тунгуда.

Сожжение моста явилось для партизан выдающимся достижением. Если бы представилась возможность быстро уничтожить несколько мостов на Мурманской железной дороге, то русские вероятнее всего оставили бы Беломорскую Карелию карелам, не пытаясь её оборонять до того времени, пока они не смогли бы сосредоточить значительные силы.

Русские же из-за разрушения моста вновь получили возможность наблюдать многочисленные и продолжительные трудности с восстановлением и перетаскиванием волоком через эту реку военных грузов для своих частей.

Партизаны при первой же возможности пытались разрушить другие мосты, но русские части охраняли их настолько большим количеством личного состава и настолько строго, что все попытки партизанских партий оказывались напрасными.

Были предприняты попытки помешать работам по строительству моста через реку Онда, но они не привели у русских к достойной упоминания задержке.



Ильмаринен
«Воспоминания командующего лесных партизан»
II. «Бои в Карелии»
1931 год

© 1997–2021