heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Through the North Russia

...It’s said, that on the Lake Konchezero there are as many islands, as how many days in a year. And all of them are situated along the lake and bear the names of the Saints. The God knows, why the only one island went across, and for this it is nicknamed as "The Fool". This is sure to be told everyone who passes through. In ethnographic respect it's curious, that Lake Konchezero separates the Karelian settlements from the Russian ones; and on the both sides the two different languages are spoken.

The Lake Pertozero, which our way was laid along, is surrounded by durites — wonderful vein deposits of copper ore, that were extracted somewhen. The population in these places is mainly Karelian. The Karelians are about of 40,000 people in the whole province; and there are the Karelians in the Novgorod region too. Once had been ousted by the Novgorodians and converted to Christianity 600 years ago, the Karelians moved over to the more remote places of the region, leaving the best areas to the Russians. These people are shy, and they quite patiently endure the nicknames given to them. Their villages are mostly poor, uncrowded, of 2-6 yards; lots of churches, chapels and crosses remind of the hermits. Huts, built 200 years ago, come across. The Karelian huts are mostly two-story and strong, due to the abundance of forest. But it's almost the only thing that shows the welfare: the bread mixed in half with straw and pine bark is not uncommon. Hunting and fishing are an essential bit of a help in peasant life. It is not surprising as the sixth part of the region is the water, and 5/6 is the forest.

Fishing can be very abundant: fish seines, drag nets, hoop nets; sometimes hauls on the bait give up to two pounds per day: ide, whitefish, roach, whitebait, pike, perch, ruff are the main prey.

Unfortunately, the proximity to water conditioned a strong faith in mermans and a number of legends and songs. Of course, here in the North, you can not expect the brightness of the Southern Russian fairytales, where the maiden puts a thread of the sunlight into a needle and embroiders it on the basis made of hair. Here are more similarities with the Finnish gloomy song, where the singer of "Kalevala" says, "he rips his songs off the heathers" and "frost taught him songs and rain brought the word."

.  .  .


Konstantin K. Sluchevsky
Through the North Russia, Saint Petersburg, 1886.

Translated by Ilya Kuznetsov, 2013
© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

По Северу России

..На Кончезере, говорят, столько островов, сколько дней в году, и всё они расположены вдоль озера и носят имена святых; один только остров, Бог знает почему, лег поперек, и за это кличка ему "Дурак". Это обязательно рассказывают всякому проезжающему. В этнографическом отношении любопытно то, что. Кончезеро отделяет корельские поселения от русских, и на двух берегах его звучат два разных языка.

Пертозеро, вдоль которого шел наш дальнейший путь, окружено дюритами - замечательными жильными месторождениями медных руд, когда то разрабатывавшихся. В этих местах население главным образом корельское. Корелов считается в крае всего - около 40000 человек; корелы есть и в Новгородской губернии. Оттесненные когда-то новгородцами, обращенные в христианство 600 лет тому назад, корелы отодвинулись в более глухие места края, предоставив лучшие русским. Они люди робкие и довольно терпеливо выносят данные им клички: "корешки", "белоглазой корехи"; деревни их большей частью бедны, нелюдны, 2-6 дворов; церквей, часовен, крестов - множество: это память пустынножителей. Попадаются избы, построенные 200 лет назад, избы корелов, большей частью, двухэтажные, благодаря обилию леса прочны, хороши, но это почти единственное, что свидетельствует о благосостоянии: хлеб пополам с соломой и сосновой корой не редкость. Охота и рыбная ловля здесь существенное подспорье крестьянского быта. Оно и не мудрено, так как 1/6 часть края - вода, а 5/6 - лес.

Рыбные ловли бывают очень обильны: ловят рыбу неводами, мутниками, мережами, мордами; уловы на удочку дают иногда до двух пудов в день: язь, сиг, плотва, снитки, щука, окунь, ерш - главная добыча.

Близость к воде обусловливала, к несчастью, сильную веру в водяников и целый ряд легенд и песен. Тут, на севере нельзя, конечно, ожидать яркости южно-русских сказок, где дева вдевает в иглу солнечные лучи и вышивает ими на основе, сделанной из волос; тут больше сходства с финской, мрачной песней, где певец "Калевалы" говорит, что он "срывает песни свои с вересков", что "мороз учил его песням, и дождь приносил слова".

.  .  .


Константин Константинович Случевский
По Северу России, Санкт-Петербург, 1886.

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen