heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

The Ladoga War Flotilla Commander`s
REPORT
to the Commander of the Baltic Navy
on the actions of the Flotilla
November 30, 1939 - March 13, 1940

I report:

The first task, which by the order of the War Council of the Red Banner Baltic Navy was worked out by the Flotilla Staff in October 1939, was the landing of the forces consisting of the strengthened regiment in the Sortanlax Bay. From November 6-23 the Flotilla transferred 75 infantry divisions by the lake from Schlisselburg to the Olonka.

November 23 the War Council of the Red Banner Baltic Navy in Order N 07/operational set the following tasks to the Ladoga Flotilla:

To destroy the Finnish ships in the Ladoga Lake. Not to allow the landing of diversionary forces on the Ladoga Lake in the mouth of the Volchov, Syas, Olonka and Vidlitsa rivers. To support the flanks of the 7th and 8th Armies with the artillery fire. To provide the line of communication to the Vidlitsa and Sviritsa. To be ready for the diversionary groups landing in the Sortavala and Kexholm front. To organize the antisubmarine defense of the Ladoga Lake.

To carry out the order a plan was worked out for four "Kronshtadt" gunboats, and the command of the Flotilla raised the question of strengthening the Flotilla with other ships and means.

Not only did not the Flotilla get any reinforcement, but also it was left with one gunboat. At the same time the approach of the winter put off the fulfillment of other tasks set in Order N 07/operational. By November 29 the first group of ships of the Ladoga War Flotilla had been formed. It consisted of the "Oranienbaum" gunboat, the "Vidlitsa", "Moskva", M-31 and M-37 minesweepers, R-413, R-414, R-416 and R-417 patrol boats. Head of the Flotilla Stuff 1st-rank Capitan Troinin was appointed Unit Commander, Flotilla War Commissar Brigade Commissar Akhimov was apointed the Commissar.

November 29 it became clear that near the eastern shore of the Lake the Flotilla could not operate because of lack of forces and absence of the base, of which the War Council of the Red Banner Baltic Navy, Commander of Leningrad Military District and the Commander of the 8th Army were informed. Thus, at that moment the command of the Flotilla thought that the task to assist the flank of the 7th army with fire and to cover it from the attacks from the lake and destroy the enemy's flotilla was left. Later the War Council of the Red Banner Baltic Navy extended this task. Enciphering N 2256, dated December 31 added the task to destroy the coastal batteries on the islands and to assist the flank of the 8th Army with fire. After this addition there were no more tasks, but their volume naturally decreased because of the freeze-up (January 14-20, 1940), when the ships lost the exit to the eastern shores. The task to assist the forces of the 13th Army with fire and to cover its right flank from the attacks from the ice was left. This task tallied with the task to defend the Flotilla base Sauna-Saari.

December 6 on the right flank of the land front the 49th rifle division was getting ready to force the Taipale-Joki river. The ship detachment commander got the attacking order for the 3rd infantry corps through the communication delegate from Captain-Lieutenant Slizkoi. Detachment Commander 1st rank Captain Trainin decided to move the forces to the Taipale Bay to support the attack, withdrawing the fire of the coastal batteries on his troops. A group of ships, including the "Razvedchik" patrol ship (Detachment Commander`s Flag), the "Dozorni" patrol ship, M-32 and M-34 minesweepers, and patrol boats 422 and MO-213, headed for the Taipale Bay at 2 p.m. on December 6. At 3.10 p.m. the ships turned to the north and 5 minutes later turned off 30 degrees in the enemy's direction. During 1 hour 10 min the ships were under fire of the enemy's batteries and fought a battle against them. None of the enemy's missiles hit the target. 5-7 December and till noon December 8 the Soviet forces were getting the feel of the harbour and the new Sauna-Saari base. On December 8, 12.10 p.m. the enemy's battery opened fire at the harbour where at that time were the "Razvedchik" patrol ship, the "Moskva", "Vidlitsa" minesweepers, M-30, M-32 and M-34 minesweepers, "Boevoi" tugboat, and 4 patrol boats. The first missiles landed to the east of the Harbour and then in the Harbour close to the ships. Detachment Commander 1st rank Captain Trainin ordered the ships to leave the harbour. The ships were casting off and entering the open lake where at that time a force-seven, force-eight gale from the northeast was storming. By sheer luck the enemy's missiles did not reach our ships, but nevertheless the detachment incurred losses. Big waves, not familiar enough entry into the harbour caused several accidents. The "Moskva" minesweeper damaged its right screw when it touched the stones. M-30 minesweeper was holed in the machine compartment, from which the water started pouring in. The fire of the harbour continued on the 9th, 10th, 13th, 15th, 17th, 20th, 29th of December, 1939 and January 12, 1940. The enemy shot 152 mm missiles, pattern of 1907, and many of the missiles did not explode. After the bombardment ships came to the harbour to get the fuel only at night or at daytime in low visibility. The rest of the ships were constantly in the lake guarding the shore and the gunboat, which had run aground on the stones.

By January 1, 1940, 99 missiles had been fired at the harbour. By January 1 the ice had become so thick that the minesweepers could not move. In spite of the firing of the harbour the minesweepers had to be left in the harbour for the winter and the staff were taken to the shore. The same day the "Razvedchik" and "Dozorni" patrol ships were brought to the harbour. During the winter the harbour was fired several more times, but the missiles did not hit the ships. The group of ships of the detachment consisting of the "Oranienbaum" gunboat, the "Vodolaz" rescue and salvage tug and the "Tulen" patrol ship stayed for the winter outside the harbour and got frozen in the ice. During the time of the military operations the enemy`s ships did not appear outside the area of the detachment's operations.

Conclusions:

  1. The enemy's fire of the harbour and the coastal battery was futile. None of our ships had suffered from it.
  2. The losses of the detachment - wreck of the patrol boat 416 and the accident of the minesweeper M-30 were due to the insufficient training for sailing in the difficult conditions. The commander of the minesweeper M-30 decided to run aground, but during the maneuver the ship rammed the patrol boat 416 which sank.
  3. The absence of its own maneuver base (e.g. the Ladoga War Flotilla) shows the difficulties of the military operations for the ships, isolated from all the supply sources. The example of the Ladoga War Flotilla ships demonstrated that a considerable amount of efforts was used to fight bad weather and not the enemy.
  4. The occupation of the detachment's base by the ships in the immediate proximity of the enemy showed him that our ships were full of determination to fulfill the task and it was proven by the different type of actions of the enemy's Flotilla in the area of the eastern shore of the Ladoga lake where our ships were not present. With the beginning of the freeze-up and setting the ships for the winter in the Sauna-Saari Harbour the Ladoga War Flotilla started organizing the defense of the base. The whole defense system was aimed not only at the protection of the objects situated on the base but also at preventing the enemy's diversionary and reconnaissance groups from getting into the rear and large formations from penetrating from the lake-side. By the beginning of February 1940 the organization of the defense of the base had been completed, the territory being divided into areas. A circular fire system was organized and the coöperation of all fire means was expected. Depending on the circumstances action readiness was defined.

At 5:40 p.m. January 28, 1940 from Ranta-Kyla direction 6 airplanes heading 130 degrees at the height of 2500-3000 metres were noticed. Having skirted the base from the south the airplanes reached the lake at the place where a group of ships were left outside the cape for the winter. Having turned to the north the airplanes in the bearing order headed for the harbour. Having reached the traverse of the Valkaniemi Cod the head plane went into a dive and at about 5:45 p.m. dropped the bombs which landed at a distance from the ships which were situated at the beginning of the dike. Immediately the "Oranienbaum" gunboat and later the "Razvedchik" and "Dozorni" patrol ships started firing the second plane of this flight, which reaching the harbour was going into a dive on the ships but caught fire and falling down broke into pieces. The third plane dropped the bombs in the area where minesweeper M-34 was standing and headed for the northwest after the first plane. After the first flight of aircraft in 2-3 minutes a second one appeared, it was going in the same direction. The second flight encountered the fire of the 45 mm antiaircraft guns and machine-guns on the gunboats. The machines-guns and antiaircraft artilleries of the ships soon joined the battle. Probably, under the influence of the fire the flight of aircraft scattered. The first airplane continued the flight, it dived on the harbour and dropped the bombs between a group of minesweepers and patrol ships in the corner formed by the dike. The second airplane reaching the traverse of Valkaniemi was, obviously, hit and the undercarriage with the skis fell down in 200 m from the dike. The airplane caught fire and quickly lost height. At the height of 15 m above the surface of the lake the airplane emitting smoke headed for the northwest and disappeared in the dark of the twilight. The third plane, having reached the harbour, and being in the fire of the antiaircraft artillery of the ships and battery, turned, first taking the reverse course as if it wanted to turn to the gunboat, but then continuing the turn made a circle, headed for the antiaircraft artillery battery, swooped on it and having shot it from the machine-gun headed for the north-west.

The following should be mentioned as the active operations of the Flotilla during the winter:

  1. The action of the 6th howitzer battery, placed on the right flank of the 13th Army (the area of the Kosilo village), it coöperated with the units of the 3rd infantry corps February 6 - March 13, 1940.
  2. The fire assistance of the Army flank by the gunboat artillery fire.
  3. The reconnaissance of the sub-units of the 148th separate local infantry company and the 3rd platoon of the coastal escort detachment on the ice.

All the listed actions turned out to be an effective means of preventing the enemy from getting into the rear of the Army. These actions provided the preparation of the Flotilla for the summer campaign. The supply of the ships and units with the arms and ammunition was regular and all the demands of the ships and units were quickly and fully satisfied. During the period of the work of the harbour (Sauna-Saari) 2469 tons of cargo were transferred including 1686 tons of coal, 96 tons of petrol, 4 tons of paraffin, 21 tons of lubricating oil, 560 cubic metres of firewood, 302 tons of product forage, 120 tons of ammunition and arms, 40 tons of freight. All the cargo was brought from Leningrad and Gruzino in winter conditions in intense colds, abundant snowfalls and blizzards, mostly at night. During this period the Sauna-Saari harbour supplied the units and the Flotilla and it also did a great amount of organizational work. The command personnel that had been sent to the harbour mostly did not possess practical skills of working in wartime. Besides, part of the command personnel did not have sufficient knowledge and experience in work that they had to do.

General conclusion:

  1. The Ladoga War Flotilla was established hastily and during the war actions had several accidents. The main reasons for the accidents were the commanders` ignorance of the theatre of operations, their poor navigation training, absence of wartime navigation means and devices. The Ladoga theatre of operations had not been prepared for the war. We did not have any covered anchor harbour, whereas Finland possessed harbours of which we did not even know.
  2. The Ladoga War Flotilla completed the task to cover the flanks and the rear of the 7th (13th) Army from the enemy's attacks in spite of the incomplete effectives and lack of training.

The Ladoga War Flotilla Commander
2nd rank Captain SMIRNOV

The Flotilla War Commissar
Batallion Commissar SVIRIDOV

Head of the Flotilla Stuff
2nd rank Captain BARANOVSKI

Russian State Naval Archive. Fund r-92. List 2. Case 556. Pages 189-218. Original.

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

ДОКЛАД
командующего Ладожской военной флотилией
командующему Балтийским флотом
о боевых действиях флотилии
с 30 ноября 1939 г. по 13 марта 1940 г.

Докладываю:

Первой задачей, которая по приказанию Военного совета КБФ была разработана штабом флотилии в октябре 1939 г., была высадка десанта в составе усиленного полка в заливе Сортанлакс. С 6 по 23.11 флотилия осуществляла переброску озером 75 сд из Шлиссельбурга в Олонку.

23.11 приказом Военного совета КБФ N07/оп Ладожской флотилии были поставлены задачи:

Уничтожить финские корабли в Ладожском озере. Не допустить высадки диверсионных десантов на Ладожском озере в районах устьев рек Волхов, Сясь, Олонка и Видлица. Поддержать огнем артиллерии фланги 7-й и 8-й армий. Обеспечить коммуникацию на Видлицу и Свирицу. Быть готовым к высадке диверсионных групп на фронте Сортавала, Кексгольм. Организовать ПЛО Ладожского озера.

Во исполнение этого приказа был разработан план операций из расчета на основное боевое ядро из четырех канлодок типа "Кронштадт", причем командование флотилии ставило вопрос об усилении флотилии другими кораблями и средствами.

Однако флотилия не только не получила усиления, но и осталась только при одной канлодке. Вместе с тем наступление зимы отодвигало некоторые из задач, поставленных приказом N07/оп, на задний план. К 29.11 был сформирован первый отряд кораблей ЛВФ в составе КЛ "Ораниенбаум", ТЩ "Видлица", "Москва", М-31, М-37, СКА Р-413, Р-414, Р-416 и Р-417. Командиром отряда был назначен начальник штаба флотилии капитан 1 ранга Трайнин, комиссаром - военный комиссар флотилии бригадный комиссар Акимов.

29.11 стало ясно, что флотилия у восточного берега озера действовать не может, вследствие недостатка сил и отсутствия баз, о чем и было донесено Военному совету КБФ, командующему войсками ЛВО и командующему 8-й армией. Таким образом, командование флотилии считало в этот момент, что перед ним остается задача огневого содействия флангу 7-й армии и прикрытия его от нападений с озера и уничтожения флотилии противника. В дальнейшем эта задача была Военным советом КБФ расширена. Шифровкой N2256 от 31.12 были добавлены задачи по уничтожению береговых батарей на островах, огневому содействию флангу 8-й армии. После этого изменения задач не было, но объем их естественным образом сократился с наступлением ледостава (14-20.01 1940 г.), когда корабли лишились возможности выхода к восточным берегам. Осталась лишь задача огневого содействия войскам 13-й армии и прикрытие ее правого фланга от нападения со льда. Последняя задача совпала с задачей обороны базы флотилии Сауна-Саари.

На правом фланге сухопутного фронта 49 сд 6.12 готовилась форсировать р.Тайпале-Иоки. О предстоящем наступлении командир отряда кораблей получил приказ 3 ск, через делегата связи от ЛВФ капитан-лейтенанта Слизкого. Командир отряда капитан 1 ранга Трайнин решил 6.12 выйти в район Тайпалевского залива для поддержки наступления армии посредством отвлечения огня береговых батарей на себя. Отряд кораблей в составе СКР "Разведчик" (флаг командира отряда), СКР "Дозорный", ТЩ М-32 и М-34, СКА-422 и СКА МО-213 в 14.00 6.12 вышел в Тайпалевский залив. В 15.10 корабли повернули на норд, а еще через 5 минут уклонились в сторону противника на 30 градусов. В течение 1 часа 10 мин корабли отряда были под огнем батарей противника и вели с ними бой. Со стороны противника попаданий в корабли не было. В течение 5-7.12 и первой половины дня 8.12 шло деятельное освоение гавани и новой базы Сауна-Саари. В 12.10 8.12 неприятельская батарея открыла огонь по гавани, где к этому времени находились СКР "Разведчик", ТЩ "Москва", ТЩ "Видлица", ТЩ М-30, ТЩ М-32, ТЩ М-34, буксир "Боевой" и четыре СКА. Первые снаряды упали к осту от гавани, а затем в самую гавань вблизи от кораблей. Командир отряда капитан 1 ранга Трайнин дал приказание отряду выйти из гавани. По мере отдачи швартовых корабли начали выходить из гавани в открытое озеро, где в это время бушевал 7-8 балльный шторм от норд-оста. По счастливой случайности снаряды противника ни в один из наших кораблей не попали, но тем не менее отряд понес существенные потери. Крупная волна, недостаточно хорошо изученный вход в гавань явились причиной ряда аварий. Так, ТЩ "Москва" повредил правый винт, коснувшись камней. ТЩ М-30 получил пробоину в машинном отсеке, через которую быстро начал заполняться водой. В дальнейшем обстрел гавани продолжался 9, 10, 13, 15, 17, 20, 29.12.1939 г. и 12.01.1940 г. Стрельба велась 152-мм снарядами обр. 1907 г., причем многие снаряды не взрывались. В гавань после обстрела входили за топливом отдельные корабли только ночью и днем в плохую видимость. Оставшиеся корабли непрерывно находились в озере, осуществляя охрану сидевшей на камнях КЛ и побережья.

До 1.01.1940 г. по гавани было выпущено 99 снарядов. К 1.01 мощность льда достигла таких размеров, что ТЩ не могли передвигаться. Пришлось несмотря на обстрелы гавани ТЩ поставить на зимовку в гавани, а личный состав с них снять на берег. В этот же день в гавань введены СКР "Разведчик" и "Дозорный". В течение зимы гавань еще несколько раз подвергалась обстрелу, но попаданий в корабли не было. Группа кораблей отряда в составе КЛ "Ораниенбаум", СБ "Водолаз" и СКР "Тюлень" остались на зимовку вне гавани и вмерзли в лед. За все время военных действий корабли противника в районе не операций отряда не появлялись.

Выводы:

  1. Обстрел гавани и кораблей ББ противника был безрезультатен, так как ни один из наших кораблей не пострадал.
  2. Потери, понесенные отрядом, - гибель СКА-416 и авария ТЩ М-30, надо отнести за счет только нашей недостаточной подготовленности к плаванию в сложных условиях. Командир ТЩ М-30 принял решение выброситься на берег, но, совершая маневр, судно протаранило СКА-416, который затонул.
  3. Отсутствие своей МБ (на примере ЛВФ) показывает всю сложность ведения боевых операций для кораблей, оторванных от источника снабжения и пополнения всеми видами запасов. На примере кораблей отряда ЛВФ приходится констатировать, что значительная часть усилий кораблей и личного состава затрачена не на борьбу с противником, а на борьбу со стихией.
  4. Занятие кораблями отряда базы, расположенной в непосредственной близости от противника, показало последнему, что наши корабли полны решимости выполнить поставленную им задачу, что и подтверждается совершенно иным характером действий флотилии противника в районе восточного побережья Ладожского озера, где наших кораблей не было. С началом ледостава и постановкой кораблей на зимовку в гавани Сауна-Саари ЛВФ приступила к организации обороны базы. Вся система обороны имела целью не только охрану объектов, расположенных в базе, но и обеспечение фланга армии от проникновения в тыл отдельных диверсионных и разведывательных групп противника, а также и больших соединений войск со стороны озера. К началу февраля 1940 года организация обороны базы была закончена. Вся территория разбита на участки. Система огня организована по круговому принципу и рассчитана на взаимодействие всех огневых средств. В зависимости от обстановки устанавливались боевые готовности.

В 17.40 28.01.1940 г. с направления Ранта-Кюля было замечено 6 самолетов, идущих курсом 130 градусов на высоте 2500-3000 м. Обогнув базу с юга, самолеты вышли к озеру у места стоянки группы кораблей, зимующих вне гавани, и, развернувшись на норд, пошли на гавань в строе пеленга. Дойдя примерно до траверза мыса Валканиеми, головной самолет перешел в пике и около 17.45 сбросил серию бомб, которые легли в стороне от кораблей, стоящих у начала дамбы. Немедленно КЛ "Ораниенбаум", а вслед за ней СКР "Разведчик" и СКР "Дозорный" открыли огонь по второму самолету этого звена, который, подходя к гавани, также начал было пикировать на корабли, но загорелся и, падая, стал разваливаться на части. Третий самолет сбросил бомбы в районе стоянки ТЩ М-34 и ушел на норд-вест вслед за первым самолетом. Вслед за первым звеном через 2-3 минуты показалось второе, шедшее тем же курсом. Второе звено было встречено огнем 45-мм зенитных орудий и пулеметов КЛ, к которой вскоре присоединились пулеметы и ЗА кораблей, стоящих в гавани, и зенитной батареи. Вероятно под действием этого огня звено рассыпалось. Первый самолет продолжал путь, спикировал на гавань и сбросил бомбы между группой ТЩ и CКР в углу, образуемом дамбой. Второй, подходя к траверзу Валканиеми, видимо, получил попадание, от него отлетело шасси с лыжами, упавшее в 200 м от дамбы, из него показалось пламя и он резко пошел на снижение. Снизившись до 15 м над поверхностью озера, самолет, продолжая дымить, пошел на этой высоте на норд-вест и скрылся во мгле наступавших сумерек. Третий самолет, дойдя до гавани и находясь под огнем ЗА кораблей и батареи, развернулся сначала на обратный курс, как бы желая повернуть на КЛ, но затем, продолжая разворот, описал круг, пошел на ЗА батарею, спикировал на нее и, обстреляв пулеметным огнем, ушел на норд-вест.

К активным действиям флотилии в зимний период следует отнести:

  1. Действие 6-й отд. гаубичной батареи, выдвинутой на правый фланг фронта 13-й армии (район д.Косило) и взаимодействовавшей с частями 3 ск в период с 6.02 по 13.3.1940 г.
  2. Огневую поддержку фланга армии артогнем КЛ.
  3. Разведку на льду подразделениями 148-й омср и 3-го взвода БОС.

Все перечисленные мероприятия явились действенным средством от проникновения противника в тыл нашей армии и обеспечили флотилии подготовку к летней кампании. Снабжение предметами вооружения и боезапасом кораблей и частей производилось бесперебойно, все заявки выполнялись быстро - части и корабли были обеспечены положенным им оружием и боезапасами в полной мере. За период работы порта (Сауна-Саари) было переброшено 2469 тонн груза, в том числе: угля - 1686, бензина - 96, керосина - 4, смазочного масла - 21 тонн, дров - 560 куб. м, продфуража - 302 тонны, боезапасов и вооружения - 120, разных грузов - 40 тонн. Весь груз был доставлен машинами из Ленинграда и Грузино в условиях зимы, сопровождавшейся сильными морозами, обильными снегопадами и метелями, в большинстве случаев ночью. За отчетный период наряду со снабжением частей и кораблей флотилии портом Сауна-Саари была проведена и большая организационная работа. Присланный на укомплектование порта начальствующий состав в подавляющем большинстве практических навыков работы в боевых условиях не имел, к тому же часть начсостава не имела достаточных знаний и опыта в работе, которую им пришлось выполнять.

Общий вывод:

  1. Ладожская военная флотилия, созданная наспех, имела за время военных действий ряд аварий, основная причина которых - незнание театра командирами, их слабая штурманcкая подготовка, отсутствие на кораблях устройств и инструментов для кораблевождения в условиях военного времени. Ладожский театр не был подготовлен к войне. В то время как у нас на Ладожском озере не оказалось ни одной укрытой якорной стоянки, Финляндия создала такие гавани, которые нам даже не были известны.
  2. Задачу прикрытия фланга и тылов 7-й (13-й) армии от нападения противника с озера Ладожская военная флотилия выполнила, несмотря на слабый численный состав и недостаточную подготовку.

Командующий Ладожской военной флотилией
капитан 2 ранга СМИРНОВ

Военный комиссар флотилии
батальонный комиссар СВИРИДОВ

Начальник штаба флотилии
капитан 2 ранга БАРАНОВСКИЙ

РГАВМФ Ф.р-92 Оп.2. Д.556. Л.189-218. Подлинник


Сокращения:

ЛВО - Ленинградский Военный Округ
КБФ - Краснознаменный Балтийский Флот
ЛВФ - Ладожская Военная Флотилия
КЛ - канонерская лодка
СКР - сторожевой корабль
СКА - сторожевой катер
ТЩ - тральщик
СБ - спасательный буксир
ББ - береговая батарея
МБ - маневровая база
ЗА - зенитная артиллерия
ПЛО - противолодочная оборона
БОС - береговой отряд сопровождения
ск - стрелковый корпус
сд - стрелковая дивизия
омср - отдельная местная стрелковая рота

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen