heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Wilfrid Brotherus

According to information received here last night, Licentiate of Medicine Wilfrid Eugen Brotherus has fallen on the northern front in the Olonets Karelia.

Dr. Brotherus was born in Helsinki in 1888. After becoming a student in 1906, he entered into medical studies, completing as Candidate of Medicine in 1909 and as Licentiate in 1916. In the autumn of 1908, he made a study trip to Göttingen, Germany, to study surgery, which became his specialty. After working for some time as a doctor in Inari, he was elected to municipal doctor position in Rantasalmi, which he held until his death.

Having literary inclinations, as passionate naturalist he published essays in ”Luonnon Ystävä” and ”Duodecim” and also for some time was served as subeditor of second magazine.

But most of his life's work has been done by Dr. Brotherus as a military doctor. Therefore, immediately after the outbreak of World War, he ended up in Russia as part of a Finnish field hospital, before long gaining a reputation as a healer of battle wounds, which skill he more developed after organizing for some time his own field hospital. After the uprising broke out, he was immediately began to work on the White side, and he was entrusted with the position of Chief Physician of the Savo Front, where he achieved a general unconditional acceptance. And now, when our brothers in the tribe in Olonets Karelia are being liberated, he was again ready to rush to help, despite the difficulties, naturally associated with a trip to such wilderness.

For anyone who knew Wilfrid Brotherus, this news will be bitter and depressing. Once again death has taken away one of those who are most needed – a man of knowledge, a man of skill, a man of action. His perfectly started life's work has been violently cut off, but the traces which he has left, especially recovered soldiers, have to tell about a man who without sparing himself, called his colleagues to self-sacrifice, and who on his path of life from the vastness of Inari to the wilderness of Olonets Karelia took himself the fulfillment of the work, which was difficult for others.

Eternal rest grant to him!

The deceased is mourned by his mother, née Malm, as well as two sisters and four brothers.



Uusi Suomi -newspaper no. 134
June 14, 1919

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Вилфрид Бродерус

Согласно полученному прошедшей ночью сообщению, лиценциат медицины Вилфрид Эуген Бродерус погиб на северном фронте в Олонецкой Карелии.

Доктор Бродерус родился в Хельсинки в 1888 году. Став в 1906 году студентом, он посвятил себя изучению медицины, получив степень кандидата медицины в 1909 году и степень лиценциата в 1916 году. Осенью 1908 года он совершил учебную поездку в Гёттинген, Германия, для изучения хирургии, ставшей его специализацией. Проработав некоторое время врачом в Инари, он был выбран на должность муниципального врача в Рантасалми, которую он занимал до самой своей смерти.

Обладая литературными задатками и будучи увлечённым натуралистом, он публиковал свои эссе в изданиях «Luonnon Ystävä» и «Duodecim», в последнем из которых он также некоторое время являлся секретарём редакции.

Но большую часть дела своей жизни доктор Бродерус выполнил в качестве военного врача. Так, сразу же после начала Мировой войны он оказался в России в составе финского полевого госпиталя, в скором времени заработав репутацию целителя боевых ран, каковой навык он ещё более развил, организовав на какое-то время собственный полевой госпиталь. Когда полыхнул бунт, он тут же приступил к работе на стороне белых и ему была доверена должность главного врача фронта Саво, на которой он добился всеобщего безоговорочного признания. И сейчас, когда освобождаются наши братья по племени в Олонецкой Карелии, он вновь был готов броситься на помощь, невзирая на трудности, с которыми естественно сопряжён поход в такую глушь.

Для всякого, знавшего Вилфрида Бродеруса, поступившее известие будет удручающим и горьким. И вновь смерть забрала одного из тех, кто более всех нужен – человека знания, человека умения, человека действия. Прекрасно начатое дело жизни насильственно оборвано, но тем следам, которые он успел оставить, в особенности выздоровевшим солдатам, есть что рассказать о человеке, который, не щадя самого себя, призывал своих коллег к самопожертвованию и на земном пути от просторов Инари до лесной глуши Олонецкой Карелии брал на себя выполнение той работы, за которую трудно было приняться другим.

Мир ему!

Покойного оплакивают его мать, урождённая Малм, а также две сестры и четыре брата.



Газета «Uusi Suomi» № 134
14 июня 1919 года

© 1997–2021