heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Toivo Kuisma

June 29, 1919. Toivo Kuisma

As already mentioned, 27th of this month in the Sortavala City Jäger Captain Toivo Kuisma died from the wounds, which he got during the bombing of Vidlitsa.

Toivo Kuisma was born in Karelia, in Antrea at 1885, graduated from the Vyborg Real Lyceum at 1903*, after which he studied for some time at the university, focusing his studies on chemistry, physics and mathematics. After finished his university studies he moved to the newspaper industry, worked for a short time in Helsingin Sanomat -newspaper, from where he moved to the editorial office of Turun Sanomat -newspaper, and later worked as a correspondent for the Fennia life insurance company.

Toivo Kuisma passed away as a warm friend of the Fatherland and an energetic champion of independence. When many still considered the independence of Finland an empty dream, it was so certain for him that his faith was not shaken. This his faith also completely predetermined his life path. The moment is coming when workers are needed to create independence and it was necessary to prepare for it. He decided that he would best perform his forthcoming duty as a soldier and therefore he tried several times for this career. As a young graduate, he passed the exams in Mikhailovsky Artillery School in Saint Petersburg, but suspicions that Russian troops were not the places in which a Finn, dreaming of an independent Finland, should have been educated, made him reject this idea and he went to Hungary to enter to the officer school there. He would have been accepted, but the condition was that he should have transferred to Hungarian citizenship. As a patriot of his Fatherland, he could not agree to this, that plan lapsed. Then he made an attempt to enter the French Foreign Legion, but that also failed. When World War was born and the Jäger movement began, Toivo Kuisma as among those who joined first. On February 27, 1915, he arrived to Lockstedt Camp. During his time as a Jäger, Kuisma was used in many positions and, among other, was sent several times to Finland. He was promoted to Senior Lieutenant on 11 February 1918 in Libau. He arrived to Finland with the Jäger Battalion in February 1918. After arriving here, he was forced to so-called Malm’s expedition to the White Sea Karelia. He acted as a head of the expedition for some time, while Captain Malm was in Finland, and became the leader of the White Sea expedition, formed in the summer of 1918, although he was against a military campaign because the expedition was not sufficiently prepared and was too few in number. However, the warm love for Karelia prevailed and he became the head of the new expedition.

Captain Kuisma served for some time in the Ministry of War and then became the head of Civil Guard of the city of Kuopio, then he became the head of Civil Guard District in the city of Sortavala. It is probably no coincidence that Kuisma got his death wound in the Olonets Karelia, but this fate may have so determined. Like no other, he was an eager friend of Karelia and the the activity for joining both the Olonets Karelia and the White Sea Karelia to Finland was his passion. Long times ago, when interest to the Finnish enlightenment activity in both the Olonets Karelia and the White Sea Karelia was aroused in Finland, Kuisma was one of the leading men. By his initiative, a Karelian committee of student unions was established, the program of which was to enlightenment the mentioned Karelian tribes. As a Chairman of Karelian committee, he also made a great contribution to the Karelian cause.

Toivo Kuisma passed away as hardworking and conscientious worker who did exactly and accurately what he accepted to do. Also our young officer corps lost an erudite soldier. As a young student, he studied not only military history, but also other military studies. Those who had a chance to discuss these issues with Kuisma, could hear in-depth analyzes of the great battles of world history and the reasons for the victory of one of sides and for the defeat of the other side.

Toivo Kuisma was a modest man who did not want to shine with his knowledge or brag about his deeds. His joy was work and actions. Among his comrades, he was always considered lively and inspiring. Lot of his comrades and friends longingly remember the early-departed friend of the Fatherland. He is mourned by his mother, sister and stepfather.

Rest in peace, hero.



Helsingin Sanomat -newspaper, no. 171
June 29, 1919

* Actually from the Tampere Real Lyceum at 1904.
© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Тойво Куйсма

29 июня 1919 года. Тойво Куйсма

Как уже было объявлено, егерский капитан Тойво Куйсма скончался в городе Сортавала 27 числа этого месяца от ран, полученных при бомбардировке Видлицы.

Тойво Куйсма родился в Карелии, в Антреа в 1885 году, в 1903 году выпустился из Выборгского реального лицея*, после чего некоторое время обучался в университете, специализируясь на химии, физике и математике. По окончании учёбы в университете пришел в газетную отрасль, проработал короткое время в «Хельсингин Саномат», откуда перешёл в редакцию «Турун Саномат», а затем работал корреспондентом страховой компании «Фенниа».

Тойво Куйсма ушёл в мир иной будучи горячим другом Отечества и энергичным поборником независимости. Когда многие ещё считали независимость Финляндии пустой мечтой, для него это было настолько очевидно, что его вера в неё не знала колебаний. Эта его вера также полностью предопределила его жизненный путь. Ведь предстоял момент, когда для создания независимости понадобятся работники, и к этому надо было подготовиться. Он решил, что лучше всего он выполнит свой предстоящий долг в качестве солдата и поэтому несколько раз пытался реализовать эту карьеру. Молодым выпускником он сдал экзамены в Михайловское артиллерийское училище в Санкт-Петербурге, но подозрения, что российские части не были теми местами, в которых следовало получать образование финну, мечтающему о независимой Финляндии, заставили его отказаться от этой идеи, и он поехал в Венгрию, чтобы поступить там в офицерскую школу. Его готовы были принять, но условием являлся переход в венгерское подданство. Как патриот своего Отечества, он не смог на это пойти и этот план не осуществился. Затем он предпринял попытку вступить во французский Иностранный легион, но это тоже не удалось. Когда началась Мировая война и возникло егерское движение, Тойво Куйсма был среди тех, кто присоединились к нему первыми. 27 февраля 1915 года он прибыл в Локштедтский лагерь. За время своего пребывания в качестве егеря Куйсма привлекался для выполнения многих задача, так, кроме прочего, он несколько раз командировался в Финляндию. 11 февраля 1918 года в Либаве он был произведён в старшие лейтенанты. В составе егерского батальона он прибыл в Финляндию в феврале 1918 года. По прибытии сюда, он попал с так называемой экспедицией Малма в Беломорскую Карелию. Был какое-то время руководителем похода во время пребывания капитана Малма в Финляндии и стал руководителем организованного летом 1918 года Беломорского похода, хотя и был против военного выступления в условиях, когда экспедиция была недостаточно подготовлена и слишком малочисленна. Однако горячая любовь к Карелии возобладала и он стал новым главой похода.

Капитан Куйсма прослужил какое-то время в военном министерстве, а потом стал руководителем шюцкора в городе Куопио, откуда он затем переместился на должность руководителя шюцкоровского округа в городе Сортавала. Возможно, Куйсма не случайно получил свою смертельную рану в Олонецкой Карелии и именно такова и была его судьба. Как никто другой, он был пылким другом Карелии, и его страстью была деятельность по присоединению Олонецкой и Беломорской Карелий к Финляндии. Ещё давно, когда в Финляндии пробудился интерес к финской просветительской работе в Олонецкой и Беломорской Карелиях, Куйсма был в первых рядах этих людей. По его инициативе был создан тогда Карельский комитет студенческих землячеств, программа которого включала просвещение упомянутых карельских племён. Также в качестве председателя этого комитета он оказал на карельское дело большое положительное влияние.

Тойво Куйсма ушёл в мир иной прилежным и добросовестным работником, который делал в точности то и именно то, что он принимал к исполнению. В его лице наш молодой офицерский корпус потерял эрудированного солдата. Ещё молодым студентом он изучал не только военную историю, но и другие военные предметы. Те, кому довелось обсуждать с Куйсма эти вопросы, могли услышать подробнейшие разборы великих сражении мировой истории, причины победы одной из их сторон и поражения другой.

Тойво Куйсма был скромным человеком, не ставившим целью блистать своими знаниями и хвастаться своими деяниями. Его радостями были труд и действия. В кругу товарищей его всегда считали жизнерадостным и инициативным. Множество товарищей и друзей с тоской вспоминают рано ушедшего друга Отечества. Из близких людей его оплакивают мать, сестра и отчим.

Да будет пухом земля на могиле героя.



Газета «Helsingin Sanomat», № 171
29 июня 1919 года

* На самом деле в 1904 году из Таммерфорского реального лицея.
© 1997–2021