heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Sad memory of the Olonets expedition

A verdict of the drumhead court-martial

As an oppressive and sad memory will remain in the souls of the Olonets expedition volunteers from Ostrobothnia the death of two of their comrades shortly before returning to Finland. In order to maintain the necessary discipline in the retreating troops, the officers was forced to take harsh measures due to the unpleasant incidents that occurred and the dangerous fell in discipline, which eventually led to death verdicts of the drumhead court-martial. Thus, two such death verdicts were carried out in the 2th battalion under the command by Captain Hyppölä, and two youngsters from Ostrobothnia had to sacrifice their lives to improve the shaken discipline in the troops. When an officers takes such extreme strict measures to maintain discipline, they have, of course, carefully weighed all the facts, considering the seriousness and requirements of the situation. We do not consider it necessary to examine what was the actual situation, as well as to make our unconditional verdict. But because this case is already being discussed publicly and very harsh criticisms of the actions of the command are expressed, especially due to the fact that the culprits and innocents of the same unit were forced to determine by lot who of them would have to pay with their lives for the committed crimes, so let the events be described according to the somewhat convergent stories of the comrades-in-arms.

During the retreat one of the units of the Olonets expedition gained entry to the Vedlozero Orthodox Church and snatched wheat flour, wine, and money. The incident had been reported to the officer (we are talking about the battalion of Captain Hyppölä, which also included Company of Lieutenant Kallio). As a result, 27 volunteers, moving from Vedlozero Village, were arrested. The arrests were made on the road when the volunteers were on their way from Vedlozero Village to the Finnish border. Among these 27 was a group from the Company of Kallio, led by a certain M. – a volunteer from Raahe. All detainees were locked up in threshing cabin where they were kept without food or drink for two days. Then, as tells, arrived a car for transporting the members of M.’s group to the neighboring village for shooting according to verdict of the drumhead court-martial. Officers were especially informed about the involvement of members of M.'s group in the robbing of the church. However, as tells, the last trip of the guys was interrupted by Lieutenant Kallio, who arrived on the scene, who must be given credit for the fact that verdict was not executed in its original severity. The village to which the convicts were to be taken had been occupied by the Reds and Lieutenant Kallio delivered this information. Also tells that group leader M. already got a separate and earlier death verdict and this verdict had already been exposed in public. However, the case ended up canceling of death verdict for group leader M., but instead death verdict got one of the men in those group – Ervasti, the farmer's son from Oulujoki. Besides, another man from this group, which will be chosen by lot, should to be shot. The youngsters were forced to cast lots for their lives, and death lot fell on the Yrjö Saarenpuu, a Lyceum student from Ii City. However, according to all comrades who were in Vedlozero, Saarenpuu was innocent. When his other comrades entered to the church, he had remained in his group waiting outside the church, and when his comrades returned from the church, he continued on his way from Vedlozero with them. The parents of Saarenpuu*, grieving the death of their only son, were also informed that the convict, while trying to prove his innocence, received from officer a blow to his face and a strict order to keep his mouth closed.

Death verdicts, according to information received by the newspaper "Liitto", were issued by Captain Hyppölä. Attendees tells that Lieutenant Kallio, who prevented execute an arbitrary death verdict, has not even suggested appeal a result of death lot.

The death verdict was executed in the Palalahta Village at the 6th day of this month. Difficult work was entrusted to soldiers from the 3rd Company, consisting of residents of Tavastia. Saarenpuu had died calmly, as hero. Ervasti was not killed by the first salvo.

Before the execution of the verdict, Yrjö Saarenpuu wrote a letter to his relatives, which we publish here in full:

Tulomozero, June 5, 1919

Dear Mother and Father and Sisters!

This is my last letter, soon I will be shot for nothing. Do not be sad for me, forgive everyone and be like I never existed. Forgive me now. I have prayed to God. Dear mother, do not die of grief, there is nothing to help, I should accept death. Do not grieve when my body will brought home. I don't know will it brought home; if will, then bury it**. Don't be sad now. I understand now what it means to run away from home. It means never come back. God bless you and last greetings to all familiars; I ask forgiveness and mercy from God for me. And don't die in grief and don't worry now. When I was at home, I misbehaved, I always did the wrong thing that happened. Give my regards to the last words to Rector. It doesn't seem that the law is here. If it was, neither would I have been shot. It was the lot which fell to me. I curse the one that caused me to be shot here.

Your son Yrjö

Yrjö Saarenpuu was 18 years and 1 month old when he died. He was a 4th grade student at the Oulu Finnish Lyceum. He also took part in the War of Independence. As a soldier, he was a valiant young man. His early death leaves his parents and two sisters sad.



Kaleva -newspaper
July 20, 1919

* Father of Yrjö (Jegor) Saarenpuu, merchant Simo Saarenpuu (originally Semen Jefimovitch Mitrofanov), had moved from Uhta (White Sea Karelia) to Finland in 1891. He applied for Finnish citizenship in March 1919 only.
** His mortal remains never returned to Finland. According to the eyewitness account, Yrjö Saarenpuu was buried on the site so that the toes of the boots remained visible.
© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Прискорбное воспоминание об Олонецком походе

Один из приговоров военно-полевого суда

Давящим и печальным воспоминанием останется в душах участвовавших в Олонецком походе добровольцев из Похъянмаа смерть двух их товарищей незадолго до возвращения в Финляндию. Из-за произошедших неприятных инцидентов и опасного падения дисциплины командование было вынуждено пойти на решительные меры для поддержания требуемого порядка в отступающих частях, привёдшие, в конечном итоге, к смертным приговорам военно-полевого суда. Так, два подобных смертных приговора были приведены в исполнение во 2 батальоне под командованием капитана Хюппёля, и двоим юношам из Похъянмаа пришлось пожертвовать своими жизнями для повышения пошатнувшейся дисциплины в частях. Когда командование принимает такие крайне строгие меры для поддержания дисциплины, оно, разумеется, тщательно взвешивает все факты, принимая во внимание серьёзность ситуации и её предпосылки. Мы не считаем нужным рассматривать, каково было фактическое состояние дел, касающихся произошедшего, равно как и выносить своё безоговорочное суждение. Но так как данный случай уже обсуждается публично, причём высказываются очень жёсткие оценки действиям командования, в особенности из-за того, что входящие в одно подразделение виновные и невиновные были вынуждены жребием определять, кому из них придётся заплатить за совершенные преступления своей жизнью, то приведём описаний событий, сведённое из нескольких совпадающих рассказов товарищей осуждённых к смерти.

В ходе отступления одно из подразделений Олонецкого похода проникло в православную церковь в деревне Ведлозеро, похитив оттуда пшеничную муку, вино и деньги. Об инциденте было доложено командованию (речь идёт о батальоне капитана Хюппёля, в который также входила рота лейтенанта Каллио). На этом основании были арестованы двигавшиеся из Ведлозера добровольцы, общим числом 27 человек. Задержание было произведено на дороге, когда упомянутые добровольцы направлялись из Ведлозера к финской границе. Среди этих 27 была группа из роты Каллио, во главе с неким М. – добровольцем из Раахе. Все задержанные были заперты в риге, где содержались без еды и питья в течение двух суток. Затем, как рассказывают, прибыла машина, которая по решению военно-полевого суда должна была отвезти членов группы М. на расстрел в соседнюю деревню. Командование было отдельно проинформировано о причастности членов группы М. к ограблению церкви. Однако, согласно рассказам, последняя поездка парней была прервана прибывшим на место лейтенантом Каллио, которому нужно отдать должное за то, что приговор не был приведён в исполнение в его первоначальной строгости. Деревня, в которую должны были быть отправлены осуждённые, была к тому времени занята красными и лейтенант Каллио доставил информацию об этом. Далее рассказывают, что командир группы М. уже получил отдельный, ранее вынесенный смертный приговор, и что приговор был вывешен на всеобщее обозрение. Дело, однако, завершилось тем, что смертный приговор командиру группы М. был отменен, но вместо этого к смертной казни был приговорён один из членов группы – Эрвасти, сын фермера из Оулуйоки. Кроме того, из группы нужно было расстрелять ещё одного человека, на которого должен был указать жребий. Юношей заставили бросить жребий и знак смерти вытащил Юрьё Сааренпуу – учащийся лицея из Ий. Однако, по рассказам всех находившихся в Ведлозере товарищей, Сааренпуу был невиновен. Когда другие его товарищи вошли в церковь, он оставался в своей группе, ожидая снаружи, а когда его товарищи вышли из церкви, продолжил с ними свой путь из Ведлозера. Родителям Сааренпуу*, пережившим тяжёлое горе из-за смерти единственного сына, рассказали, кроме прочего, осуждённый, пытавшийся доказать свою невиновность, получил удар по лицу от офицера и жёсткий приказ держать рот закрытым.

Смертные приговоры, согласно информации, полученной газетой «Liitto», были вынесены капитаном Хюппёля. Присутствовавшие рассказывают, что лейтенант Каллио, который помешал привести в исполнение произвольный смертный приговор дюжине человек, не предложил хотя бы опротестовать жребий.

Смертный приговор был приведён в исполнение деревне Палалахта 6 числа этого месяца. Эту тяжёлую задачу поручили солдатам из 3 роты, состоящей из уроженцев Хяме. Сааренпуу умер спокойно и героически. Эрвасти не был убит первым залпом.

Перед исполнением приговора Юрьё Сааренпуу написал письмо своим родным, которое мы публикуем здесь полностью:

Туломозеро, 5 июня 1919 года

Дорогие мама и папа и сёстры!

Это моё последнее письмо, вскоре меня расстреляют совершенно ни за что. Не грустите по мне, простите все и будьте, как бы если меня никогда и не было. Простите меня за все. Я всегда молился Богу. Милая мама, не умирайте от горя, тут ничем уже не помочь, мне следует принять смерть. И не печальтесь, когда тело доставят домой. Не знаю, доставят ли, но если доставят, то похороните**. Ради Бога, не печальтесь. Теперь я понимаю, что такое сбежать из дома – это значит никогда не вернуться. Да защитит вас Господь, передавайте от меня мой последний привет всем знакомым и попросите для меня у Господа прощения и милости. И только не умирайте с тоски и не беспокойтесь более. Плохо я вёл себя дома, и какого только зла не натворил. Передавайте ректору от меня привет и последние слова. Здесь закона не ведают. Если бы ведали, то и меня не расстреляли бы. Это был выпавший мне жребий. Я проклинаю того, из-за которого меня сегодня поведут на расстрел.

Ваш сын Юрьё

Юрьё Сааренпуу было на момент гибели 18 лет и 1 месяц. Он был учащимся 4 класса финского лицея Оулу. Он также принимал участие в Войне за независимость. Как солдат, он был доблестным молодым человеком. Его ранняя гибель принесла горе родителям и двум сёстрам.



Газета «Калева»
20 июля 1919 года

* Отец Юрьё (Егора) Сааренпуу, торговец Симо Сааренпуу (первоначально – Семён Ефимович Митрофанов), переехал в Финляндию из Ухты (Беломорская Карелию) в 1891 году. Прошение о получении финского гражданства он подал лишь в марте 1919 года.
** Его останки так никогда и не были перевезены в Финляндию. По воспоминанию очевидца, Юрьё Сааренпуу был захоронен на месте, причём так, что носки его сапог остались торчать наружу.
© 1997–2021