heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Still more clarity about the execution of Yrjö Saarenpuu

Because the newspapers have many times published about me insulting and slanderous publications in connection with the well-known incident of Saarenpuu, and because in the last article the originator of that whole incident, who initially remained behind the scenes, expressed himself, I also want clarify the matter.

Although Vänrikki (Estonian Lieutenant) Kallio is already made threats against me in Vedlozero Village and I never considered myself so flawless, but he would not have found in me the bit of accusations, based on truth, because, as it must be known now to Mr. Vänrikki, I have nothing to do in the whole Saarenpuu incident and the death verdict. Although Yrjö Saarenpuu brought himself under the death verdict five times, Not I, nor Military Court of the Second Battalion have not sentenced him to death, because Battalion did not have the right to execute the death sentence by its own decision. I wonder very much how Vänrikki Kallio, according to the newspaper publication, may have proved Saarenpuu to be innocent when it is impossible for him to know anything other about the case otherwise than hearing from those church robbers, with whom he seemed to be a good comrade, because the mentioned Kallio in the time of the whole series of crimes was in the Kanabrozero Village, which placed, according to my calculations, at least 50 versts from Vedlozero Village.

Although I have nothing to do in connection with this whole Saarenpuu incident other than obeying orders as a soldier and officer, I would nevertheless ask the general public and respected readership the following question: What would you have done when our white soldiers, who went to the Olonets Karelia to help the oppressed brothers, robbed and despised their most cherished, when the crying representatives from the Olonets Karelians came to commanders with accusations of what even the Bolsheviks had not done to them, when same gang of 11 men escapes from an critical place on the front-line, surrenders to armed resistance, and cuts off important telephone lines between the Regiment and the Battalion? All this was done by this 11-man gang, “by the collective decision”, which is itself an infinite military crime, and in all of these Yrjö Saarenpuu was involved. Already the blood of the many brave, decent boys who had already soaked the land of the Olonets Karelia in so many places, our boys who threatened enthusiasm and deep patriotism, who had come to the Olonets Karelia from the compression of noble and holy ideas, and not by the desire for their own profit and not by the desire to become a hero, and the threat to their bright and pure memory demanded that the dirty stain be removed in any way. It required for the lot of decent boys who had already fought blamelessly all the time and were still ready at the most critical moment to attack even the rubbish founded among themselves, and though the situation seemed even to me as hopeless, sacrifice the most expensive for the brotherly idea, inspired by which they went to expedition. The glory of those brave men, who fallen and still fought together with me, demanded compensation and it had to be realized by the command as well.

I am extremely surprised that Vänrikki Kallio, as an officer, descends to defend such 11-man gang, founded in the Battalion.

I hope that those newspapers whose program include publications in favor of public order and discipline, both in the army and elsewhere, will place my explanation in their pages.



Hyppölä, Jäger Captain
Aamulehti -newspaper, no. 217
September 21, 1919

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Ещё немного ясности о расстреле Юрьё Сааренпуу

Поскольку в газетах многократно печатались оскорбительные и клеветнические публикации в мой адрес в связи со ставшим широко известным казусом Сааренпуу и поскольку в последней статье организатор всего этого казуса, первоначально остававшийся за кулисами, высказался лично, я бы тоже хотел прояснить дело.

Так как вянрикки (эстонский лейтенант) Каллио ещё в Ведлозере высказывал угрозы в мой адрес, да и я никогда не считал себя совершенно безупречным, то он мог бы выдвинуть в мой адрес хотя бы сколько-нибудь правдивые обвинения, ибо, да будет известно господину вянрикки, я не имею никакого отношения ко всему казусу Сааренпуу и к смертному приговору. Ибо, хотя Юрьё Сааренпуу и подвёл себя пятикратно под смертный приговор, ни я, ни военный суд второго батальона не приговаривали его к смертной казни, поскольку батальон не имел права по собственному усмотрению приводить в исполнение смертные приговоры. Мне крайне любопытно, как вянрикки Каллио, согласно газетной публикации, мог свидетельствовать о невиновности Сааренпуу, когда у него не было возможности узнать о деле иначе, кроме как заслушав этих церковных грабителей, которым он, кажется, является хорошим товарищем, потому как упомянутый Каллио во время совершения всей этой серии преступлений был в Канаброзере, от которого, по моим подсчётам, до Ведлозера не менее 50 вёрст.

Хотя у меня в связи со всем этим казусом Сааренпуу не было никаких других вариантов действия, кроме как в качестве солдата и офицера повиноваться приказам, я хотел бы тем не менее задать широкой публике и уважаемым читателем следующий вопрос: А что бы вы сделали, когда наши белые солдаты, отправившиеся в Олонецкую Карелию помогать угнетённым братьям, ограбили и осквернили самое для них дорогое, когда к командованию пришли плачущие выборные от олонецких карел с обвинениями в том, чего им даже большевики ещё не делали, когда та самая шайка бандитов из 11 человек сбежала с критического участка на линии фронта, оказала вооружённое сопротивление и оборвала важные телефонные линии между полком и батальоном? И всё это было сделано той бандой из 11 человек, «по общему решению», что уже само по себе является вопиющим военным преступлением, и во всём этом был замешан Юрьё Сааренпуу. Кровь множества храбрых, достойных парней уже пропитала во многих местах землю Олонецкой Карелии, наших проникнутых энтузиазмом и глубоким патриотизмом мужественных парней, пришедших в Олонецкую Карелию руководствуясь благородными и святыми идеями, а не стремлением к собственной выгоде и желанием погеройствовать, и угроза их светлой и чистой памяти требовала каким угодно способом удалить грязное пятно. Это было необходимо во имя множества тех достойных парней, которые безупречно сражались и даже готовы были в самый критический момент атаковать завёдшийся среди них мусор, и, хотя ситуация даже мне казалась совершенно безнадёжной, жертвовать самым дорогим ради братской идеи, вдохновлённые которой они и отправились в поход. Честь этих павших и всё ещё сражавшихся вместе со мной славных храбрецов требовала компенсации, и командование должно было её реализовать.

Меня крайне удивляет то, что вянрикки Каллио, офицер, опустился до защиты обнаружившейся в батальоне банды из 11 человек.

Я надеюсь, что те газеты, в программу которых входят публикации в поддержку общественного порядка и дисциплины как в армии, так и в других местах, разместят моё разъяснение на своих полосах.



Хюппёля, егерский капитан
Газета «Aamulehti», № 217
21 сентября 1919 года

© 1997–2021