heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Memorial to the Battle of Ruskeala

Memorial to the Battle of Ruskeala

Photos

The Battle of Ruskeala is one of the main events of the Swedish-Russian War of 1788-1790. It was the only significant clash between the Swedish-Finnish and Russian troops in Karelia.

Ruskeala was an important military base on the Russian side of the border and was fortified by the construction of the fortress wall along the perimeter, on which the artillery was placed.

The Swedish forces in the area were commanded by Major Hans Henrik Gripenberg. In mid-May 1789, he received information that the Russians had concentrated in Ruskeala more than a thousand men with the intention of attacking from there the Swedish side. Gripenberg decided to preempt the Russians, by surprising the Russians in their own positions. For the attack, he had at his disposal 200 Tavastian and 100 Karelian Jägers under his own command, as well as 50 Tavastian and 150 Karelian Jägers, 20 Savonian Rangers and 20 Savonian Jägers under the command of Captain Otto Fredrik Wetterhoff.

On May 17, 1789 Major Gripenberg's forces attacked the enemy and began a battle, forced the Russians to first retreat from their positions to the their fortification, and when it turned to fire from the artillery bombardment, to flee to the nearby forest. But at this moment, Gripenberg himself had been wounded, is artillery ammunition was running out and the Swedish-Finnish forces retreated to their side of the border. So the battle did not change the positions of the opposing troops in any way.

Memorial to the Battle of Ruskeala was unveiled on May 18, 1939 in front of a Lutheran Church.

The monument, designed by sculptor Oiva Helenius, appeared a marble fortress wall about 5 meters high, with a 2-meter-high relief on the front. Relief depicted a Finnish peasant warrior defending his native land. Below placed a text plate with the words:

”At this place Finnish warriors fought for their freedom in 1789. Monument was erected by grateful descendants in 1939.”

In March 1940, relief was evacuated across the new border line to Kitee.

On June 19, 1942, a new unveiling ceremony of restored memorial to the Battle of Ruskeala took place.

The fate of monument is unknown since the end of the Continuation War.

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Памятник битве при Рускеала

Памятник битве при Рускеала

Фотографии

Битва при Рускеала относится к числу основных событий Шведско-русской войны 1788-1790 годов. Она явилась в этой войне единственным в Карелии значительным столкновением финско-шведских и русских войск.

Рускеала, будучи важным опорным пунктом на российской стороне границы, была укреплена путём строительства по периметру крепостной стены, на которой располагалась артиллерия.

Шведскими силами в этом районе командовал майор Ханс Хенрик Грипенберг. В середине мая 1789 года он получил информацию, что русские сосредоточили в Рускеала более тысячи штыков с намерением совершать оттуда нападения на шведскую сторону. Грипенберг принял решение упредить русских, застав их врасплох на их же собственных позициях. Для атаки он имел в своём распоряжении 200 тавастгусских и 100 карельских егерей под собственным командованием, а также 50 тавастгусских и 150 карельских егерей, 20 саволакских охотников и 20 саволакских егерей под командованием капитана Отто Фредрика Веттерхоффа.

17 мая 1789 года силы майора Грипенберга выступили на противника и начали сражение, которое вынудило русских сначала отступить со своих позиций к укреплению, а когда оно от артиллерийской бомбардировки занялось огнём, то спасаться в близлежащий лес. Но к этому моменту сам Грипенберг был уже ранен, боеприпасы у его артиллерии заканчивались и финско-шведские части отступили на свою сторону границы. Таким образом столкновение никоим образом не смогло изменить позиции противостоящих войск.

Памятник битве при Рускеала был открыт 18 мая 1939 года напротив лютеранской церкви.

Монумент работы скульптора Ойвы Хелениуса, представлял собой мраморную крепостную стену высотой около пяти метров с двухметровым барельефом. На барельефе был изображён финский крестьянин-воин, защищающий свой родной край. Под барельефом располагалась плита с надписью:

«На этом месте финские воины сражались за свою свободу в 1789 году. Памятник установлен благодарными потомками в 1939 году.»

В марте 1940 года барельеф был эвакуирован за линию новой границы, в Китеэ.

19 июня 1942 года состоялась церемония открытия восстановленного памятника битве при Рускеала.

Судьба монумента остаётся неизвестной со времени окончания Войны-продолжения.

© 1997–2021