heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Note of the Government of the USSR,
handed on November 28th, 1939, to Mr. Yrjö-Koskinen, Finnish minister at Moscow

Mr. Minister,

The Finnish Government's reply to the note from the Government of the U.S.S.R., dated November 26th, 1939, is a document which reflects the deep-rooted hostility of the Finnish Government towards the U.S.S.R. and is the cause of extreme tension in the relations between the two countries.

1) The fact that the Finnish Government deny that Finnish troops opened artillery fire on Soviet troops and caused casualties can be explained only by a desire to mislead public opinion and make light of those casualties. Nothing but a lack of responsibility and disdain for public opinion can account for the attempt to explain away this reprehensible incident by alleging firing practice by the Soviet artillery on the actual frontier-line within sight of Finnish troops.

2) The refusal of the Finnish Government to withdraw the troops who committed this hostile act of firing on Soviet troops, and the demand of that Government for the simultaneous withdrawal of the Finnish and Soviet troops, a demand which would appear to be based on the principle of equality, reveals clearly the hostile desire of the Finnish Government to expose Leningrad to danger. There can, indeed, be no question of equality in the situation of the Finnish and Soviet troops. The Soviet troops do not constitute a menace to Finland's vital centres, as these troops are posted hundreds of kilometres away from such places, whereas the Finnish troops, stationed at a distance of 32 kilometres from Leningrad - a vital centre of the U.S.S.R., with a population of 3½ million - menace that town directly. It is needless to stress the fact that actually the Soviet troops cannot be withdrawn anywhere, since their withdrawal to a distance of 20-25 kilometres from the frontier would mean that they would have to be posted in the suburbs of Leningrad, which would be absurd from the point of view of the safety of that city. The proposal of the Government of the U.S.S.R. that the Finnish troops should be withdrawn to beyond a distance of 20-25 kilometres from the frontier represents a minimum, since it is not designed to create equality of situation as between the Finnish and Soviet troops, but simply to attenuate the disproportion that now exists. If the Finnish Government refuse to accept this minimum proposal, it means that it is their intention that Leningrad should remain under a direct threat from their troops.

3) In concentrating a large number of regular troops in the immediate vicinity of Leningrad and subjecting that important vital centre of the U.S.S.R. to a direct threat, the Finnish Government have committed a hostile act against the U.S.S.R. which is incompatible with the Treaty of Non-Aggression concluded between the two States. The refusal of the Finnish Government, after the criminal artillery fire directed at the Soviet troops, to withdraw their troops a distance of 20-25 kilometres shows that the Finnish Government desire to persist in their hostile attitude towards the U.S.S.R., that they have no intention of complying with the provisions of the Treaty of Non-Aggression and that they have decided to keep Leningrad under a perpetual menace. The Government of the U.S.S.R. cannot, however, admit that one of the parties should be allowed to violate the Treaty of Non-Aggression, while the other party respects it.

In consequence, the Government of the U.S.S.R. are obliged to state that they consider themselves, as from to-day, released from the obligations ensuing from the Treaty of Non-Aggression concluded between the U.S.S.R. and Finland, obligations which are being systematically violated by the Finnish Government.

Accept, Mr. Minister, the assurance of my high consideration.

People's Commissar for Foreign Affairs of the USSR
V.Molotov

November 28th, 1939

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Нота правительства СССР,
врученная 28 ноября 1939 года посланнику Финляндии г-ну Ирие-Коскинену

Господин посланник!

Ответ правительства Финляндии на ноту Советского правительства от 26 ноября представляет документ, отражающий глубокую враждебность правительства Финляндии к Советскому Союзу и призванный довести до крайности кризис в отношениях между обеими странами.

1. Отрицание со стороны правительства Финляндии факта возмутительного артиллерийского обстрела финскими войсками советских войск, повлекшего за собой жертвы, не может быть объяснено иначе, как желанием ввести в заблуждение общественное мнение и поиздеваться над жертвами обстрела. Только отсутствие чувства ответственности и презрительное отношение к общественному мнению могли продиктовать попытку объяснить возмутительный инцидент с обстрелом "учебными упражнениями" советских войск в артиллерийской стрельбе у самой линии границы на виду у финских войск.

2. Отказ правительства Финляндии отвести войска, совершившие злодейский обстрел советских войск, и требование об одновременном отводе финских и советских войск, исходящие формально из принципа равенства сторон, изобличают враждебное желание правительства Финляндии держать Ленинград под угрозой. На самом деле мы имеем здесь не равенство в положении финских и советских войск, а, наоборот, преимущественное положение финских войск. Советские войска не угрожают жизненным центрам Финляндии, ибо они отстоят от них на сотни километров, тогда как финские войска, расположенные в 32 километрах от жизненного центра СССР – Ленинграда, насчитывающего 3 с половиной миллиона населения, создают для него непосредственную угрозу. Не приходится уже говорить о том, что советские войска, собственно, некуда отводить, так как отвод советских войск на 25 километров означал бы расположение их в предместьях Ленинграда, что является явно абсурдным с точки зрения безопасности Ленинграда. Предложение Советского правительства об отводе финских войск на 20-25 километров является минимальным, ибо оно ставит своей целью не уничтожение этого неравенства в положении финских и советских войск, а лишь некоторое его смягчение. Если правительство Финляндии отклоняет даже это минимальное предложение, то это значит, что оно намерено держать Ленинград под непосредственной угрозой своих войск.

3. Сосредоточив под Ленинградом большое количество регулярных войск и поставив, таким образом, важнейший жизненный центр СССР под непосредственную угрозу, правительство Финляндии совершило враждебный акт в отношении СССР, несовместимый с пактом о ненападении, заключенным между обеими странами. Отказавшись же отвести войска хотя бы на 20-25 километров после происшедшего злодейского артиллерийского обстрела советских войск со стороны финских войск, правительство Финляндии показало, что оно продолжает оставаться на враждебных позициях в отношении СССР, не намерено считаться с требованиями пакта о ненападении и решило и впредь держать Ленинград под угрозой. Но правительство СССР не может мириться с тем, чтобы одна сторона нарушала пакт о ненападении, а другая обязывалась исполнять его.

Ввиду этого Советское правительство считает себя вынужденным заявить, что с сего числа оно считает себя свободным от обязательств, взятых на себя в силу пакта о ненападении, заключенного между СССР и Финляндией и систематически нарушаемого правительством Финляндии.

Примите, господин посланник, уверения в совершенном к Вам почтении.

Народный Комиссар Иностранных Дел СССР
В.Молотов

28 ноября 1939 года

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen