heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Declaration by the governments of Great Britain, the Soviet Union and the United States, addressed to Germany's satellites — Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Finland

Through the fateful policy of their leaders, the people of Hungary are suffering the humiliation of German occupation. Romania is still bound to the Axis in a war now bringing devastation to its own people. The governments of Bulgaria and Finland have placed their countries in the service of Germany and remain in the war at Germany's side.

The governments of Great Britain, the Soviet Union and the United States think it right that these peoples should realize the following facts:

1. The Axis satellites — Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Finland, despite their realization of the inevitability of a crushing Nazi defeat and their desire to get out of the war, are by their present policies and attitudes contributing materially to the strength of the German war machine.

2. These nations still have it within their power, by withdrawing from the war and ceasing their collaboration with Germany and by resisting the forces of Nazism by every possible means, to shorten the European struggle. diminish their own ultimate sacrifices and contribute to the Allied victory.

3. While these nations cannot escape their responsibility for having participated in the war at the side of Nazi Germany, the longer they continue at war in collaboration with Germany the more disastrous will be the consequences to them and the more rigorous will be the terms which will be imposed upon them.

4. These nations must therefore decide now whether they intend to persist in their present hopeless and calamitous policy of opposing the inevitable Allied victory, while there is yet time for them to contribute to that victory.

May 13, 1944
© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Заявление правительств Советского Союза, Великобритании и Соединённых Штатов, обращённое к сателлитам гитлеровской Германии — Венгрии, Румынии, Болгарии и Финляндии

В результате гибельной политики своих руководителей народ Венгрии страдает от унижения германской оккупации. Румыния всё ещё связана с нацистами в войне, несущей сейчас разорение её собственному народу. Правительства Болгарии и Финляндии поставили свои страны на службу Германии и остаются в войне на стороне Германии.

Правительства Советского Союза, Великобритании и Соединённых Штатов считают нужным, чтобы эти народы осознали следующее:

1. Сателлиты оси — Венгрия, Румыния, Болгария и Финляндия, несмотря на то, что они осознают неизбежность решительного поражения нацистов, и несмотря на их стремление выйти из войны, своей нынешней политикой и позицией существенно укрепляют силу германской военной машины.

2. Эти государства всё ещё могут путём выхода из войны и прекращения своего пагубного сотрудничества с Германией и, путём сопротивления нацистским силам всеми возможными средствами, сократить срок европейской борьбы, уменьшить свои собственные жертвы, которые они понесут в конечном счёте, и содействовать победе союзников.

3. В то время, как эти государства не могут избежать своей ответственности за то, что они участвовали в войне на стороне нацистской Германии, чем дольше они будут продолжать участвовать в войне в сотрудничестве с Германией, тем более гибельными будут для них последствия и тем более суровыми будут условия, которые им будут предписаны.

4. Эти государства должны поэтому решить сейчас намерены ли они упорствовать в их нынешней безнадёжной и гибельной политике препятствования неизбежной победе союзников, хотя для них ещё есть время внести вклад в эту победу.

13 мая 1944 года
© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen