heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Speech at the evening sitting
of the Central Committee of the RSDLP(B)

February 18, 1918

This is a basic question. Uritsky's proposal is amazing. The Central Committee voted against a revolutionary war, but we have neither war nor peace, and are being drawn into a revolutionary war. War is no joke. We are losing railway cars, and our transport is breaking down. We cannot wait any longer because the situation has fully crystallised. The people will not understand this: since there is a war on, there should have been no demobilisation; the Germans will now take everything. This thing has gone so far that continued sitting on the fence will inevitably ruin the revolution. Ioffe wrote from Brest that there was no sign of a revolution in Germany; if that is so the Germans will find their advance very rewarding. We cannot afford to wait, which would mean consigning the Russian revolution to the scrap-heap. If the Germans said that they wanted to overthrow Bolshevik power, we would naturally have to fight; no more procrastination is permissible. It is now no longer a matter of the past but of the present. If we apply to the Germans, all we have is a piece of paper. You can't call that a policy. The only thing we can do is offer the Germans a resumption of the talks. There is no half-way house in this. If it is to be revolutionary war it must be declared, and the demobilisation stopped, but we can't go on in this manner. While we engage in paperwork, they take warehouses and railway cars, leaving us to perish. The issue now is that while playing with war we have been surrendering the revolution to the Germans.

History will say that you have surrendered the revolution. We could have concluded a peace which held no threat to the revolution. We have nothing, we have not even got the time to blow up anything as we retreat. We have done our best to help the revolution in Finland, but now we can do no more. This is not the time for an exchange of notes, and this temporising must stop. It is too late to put out feelers, because it is quite clear now that the Germans can launch an offensive. We cannot argue against the advocates of a revolutionary war, but we can and must argue against the temporisers. An offer of peace must be made to the Germans.

Bukharin failed to notice how he went over to the position of a revolutionary war. The peasants do not want war and will not fight. Can we now tell the peasants to fight a revolutionary war? But if that is what we want we should not have demobilised the army. It is a utopia to want a permanent peasant war. A revolutionary war must not be a mere phrase. If we are not ready, we must conclude peace. Since we have demobilised the army it is ridiculous to talk of a permanent war. There is no comparison at all with a civil war. The muzhik will not have a revolutionary war, and will overthrow anyone who openly calls for one. The revolution in Germany has not yet started, and we know that over here, too, our revolution did not win out all at once. It has been said here that they would take Lifland and Estland; but we can give them up for the sake of the revolution. If they should want us to withdraw our troops from Finland, well and good-let them take revolutionary Finland. The revolution will not be lost if we give up Finland, Lifland and Estland. The prospects with which Comrade Joffe tried to scare us yesterday do not at all spell ruin to the revolution.

I propose a declaration that we are willing to conclude the peace the Germans offered us yesterday; should they add to this non-interference in the affairs of the Ukraine, Finland, Lifland and Estland, we should unquestionably accept all that as well. Our soldiers are in a poor state; the Germans want grain, they will take it and go back, making it impossible for Soviet power to continue in existence. To say that the demobilisation has been stopped is to be overthrown.



Vladimir Lenin

© 1997–2020

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Речь на вечернем заседании
Центрального Комитета РСДРП(б)

18 февраля 1918 года

Вопрос коренной. Предложение Урицкого удивительно. ЦК голосовал против революционной войны, а мы не имеем ни войны, ни мира и втягиваемся в революционную войну. Шутить с войной нельзя. Мы теряем вагоны, и ухудшается наш транспорт. Теперь невозможно ждать, ибо положение определено вполне. Народ не поймёт этого: раз война, так нельзя было демобилизовать; немцы будут теперь брать все. Игра зашла в такой тупик, что крах революции неизбежен, если дальше занимать политику среднюю. Иоффе писал из Бреста, что в Германии нет и начала революции; если так, то германцы могут получать награду, двигаясь дальше. Теперь нет возможности ждать. Это значит сдавать русскую революцию на слом. Если бы немцы сказали, что требуют свержения большевистской власти, тогда, конечно, надо воевать; теперь никакие оттяжки дальше невозможны. Теперь дело идёт не о прошлом, а о настоящем. Если запросить немцев, то это будет только бумажка. Это не политика. Единственное – это предложить немцам возобновить переговоры. Теперь среднее решение невозможно. Если революционная война, то надо её объявить, прекратить демобилизацию, а так нельзя. Бумажки мы пишем, а они пока берут склады, вагоны, и мы околеваем. Теперь на карту поставлено то, что мы, играя с войной, отдаём революцию немцам.

История скажет, что революцию вы отдали. Мы могли подписать мир, который не грозил нисколько революции. У нас нет ничего, мы даже взрывать не успеем отступая. Мы сделали, что могли, помогли революции в Финляндии, а теперь не можем. Теперь не время обмениваться нотами, и надо перестать выжидать. Теперь поздно «прощупывать», так как теперь ясно, что немец может наступать. Спорить против сторонников революционной войны невозможно, но против сторонников выжидания можно и должно. Нужно предложить немцам мир.

Бухарин не заметил, что он перешёл на позицию революционной войны. Крестьянин не хочет войны и не пойдёт на войну. Можно ли сказать теперь крестьянину, чтобы он пошёл на революционную войну. Но если этого хотеть, тогда нельзя было демобилизовать армию. Перманентная крестьянская война – утопия. Революционная война не должна быть фразой. Если мы не подготовлены, мы должны подписать мир. Раз демобилизовали армию, то смешно говорить о перманентной войне. Сравнивать с гражданской войной нельзя. На революционную войну мужик не пойдёт – и сбросит всякого, кто открыто это скажет. Революция в Германии ещё не началась, а мы знаем, что и у нас наша революция не сразу победила. Здесь говорили, что они возьмут Лифляндию и Эстляндию, но мы можем их отдать во имя революции. Если они потребуют вывода войск из Финляндии – пожалуйста, пусть они возьмут революционную Финляндию. Если мы отдадим Финляндию, Лифляндию и Эстляндию – революция не потеряна. Те перспективы, которыми вчера нас пугал товарищ Иоффе, ни малейшим образом не губят революции.

Я предлагаю заявить, что мы подписываем мир, который вчера нам предлагали немцы; если они к этому присоединят невмешательство в дела Украины, Финляндии, Лифляндии и Эстляндии, – то и это надо безусловно принять. Наши солдаты никуда не годятся; немцы хотят хлеба – они его возьмут и пойдут назад, сделав невозможной Советскую власть. Сказать, что демобилизация прекращена – это значит слететь.



Владимир Ленин

© 1997–2020