heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Open radio speech of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Finland Mr. Tanner

December 1939. Open radio speech of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Finland Mr. Tanner
December 15, 1939

Mr. Commissar for Foreign Affairs Molotov!

A few weeks since, Mr. Paasikivi and myself were involved in negotiations between Yourself and Mr. Stalin. These negotiations were associated with demands for surrender of territories, as proposed by the Soviet Union. While Soviet Union does not possess any lawful means of making these proposals, we were, on behalf of government of Finland, prepared to accept more than somewhat extensive concessions. We were prepared to do this in order of maintaining peace. Finland did not in turn express any proposals.

No common ground was reached during these negotiations. On behalf of Finland, we did, however, at end of the meeting forward our willingness to continue negotiations, until of such time where agreement suitable to both parties would be achieved.

These have, however, not continued. The fault to this lies entirely with the Soviet Union, which has not wished to proceed. In fact, in order to make any further negotiations unlikely, You have terminated diplomatic relations between our countries. Offer of the United States government to act as a broker has been refused by the Soviet Union. Likewise, You have refused a proposal for re-commencement of negotiations forwarded by us via the government of Sweden, regardless of that the government of Finland had notified that we were in position to offer new and positive proposals in order to solve the stalemate. As a reply to efforts by Finland to achieve a peaceful solution, the Soviet Union has attacked our peaceful country. Amongst others, in this instance in a vicious manner bombing civilian population, slaying women and children.

Ultimately, You have rejected the proposal by League of Nations to end hostilities and resume negotiations. As both the Soviet Union as well as Finland are members of the League of Nations, this rejection is more than somewhat surprising.

By taking this course of action, You have indicated Your unwillingness to listen to our proposals. In order to avoid hearing these, You have tried to close all avenues between our countries.

The airwaves do, however, remain open. In this manner, via radio I turn to You in order to ask several questions.

During our negotiations, You communicated as the sole reason for the Soviet Union’s demands for surrender of territories the need for securing the Soviet Union and in particular the city of Leningrad against possible attack by a superpower.

Was this Your factual purpose?

If so, the concessions given by Finland were, in our opinion, sufficient for that aim to be reached. Additionally, we have forwarded our readiness to consider concessions over and above those already given.

Subsequent events have however given raise to the understanding that the Soviet Union has, from the beginning, harbored further reaching intentions. It would seem that Your intention is to bring the entire Finland under Your authority, and thereby restore the borders to what they were at Tsar – Russian times.

Should this be Your intention, You can be certain that Finland will defend itself to the end. Our people do not wish to lose their independence and freedom. The people of Finland can never be subjected to life under occupying force. That is not worthwhile to try even under the kind of “power to people” type of governmental system, which for example, Your salaried assistant, Kuusinen’s cabinet is. That cabinet does not enjoy the luxury of support of the people of Finland. The working population of Finland is members of the Social Democratic Party, as evidenced by the support during elections of the past summer, where this party achieved the level of 42.5 % of total votes cast. Additionally, that it does not enjoy the support of Finland’s peasants either, You possibly are already aware of. Both the government of Finland as well as the mode of politics driven by it, are supported by a unanimous cabinet. And behind cabinet stands united population. Ambitions of accommodation are hopeless. Establishing of Kuusinen’s cabinet has not met with support on this side of border.

The Soviet Union has wished to appear in the role of a champion. In addition, it has conveyed its respect of the rights of small nations to self-government. During my recent trip to the large agricultural exhibition held at Moscow, I read a winged statement by your leader Mr. Stalin, on the wall of a building. “While the Soviet Union does not seek even an inch of another country’s land, it will definitely defend every inch of its own land”. This exemplary sentence should at this moment be saved from being lost forevermore.

Mr. Molotov!

How do these principles announced by the Soviet Union lend themselves to your current attack against small and peace loving Finland?

I would ask You to answer this.

In the course of our parting at Moscow, we indicated our readiness to continue, by way of negotiations, efforts aimed at reaching a common agreement suitable to both parties. We remain prepared to continue, and additionally, as we have notified You, are prepared to bring forward new proposals. This preparedness is a function of both our peace loving nature as well as our willingness to avoid unnecessary bloodshed.

The first 16 days of war alone have shown that, this war shall be harsh and claim many victims.

Why should we engage in practicing bloodletting, while there are alternatives that remain uninvestigated?

Are You prepared to recommence negotiations and by this act willing to demonstrate by practical means that Your standards are of a higher level of substance than those of common advertisement material?

Mr. Molotov!

I would request reply by the same means as this question has been made. Should the answer not arrive, or should it be negative, the entire world, which is already watching various acts of the Soviet Union with amazement, shall know the value placed by the Soviet Union on its principles and promises.

Translated by Olli Makkonen, 2011
© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Открытое выступление по радио министра иностранных дел Финляндии господина Таннера

Декабрь 1939 года. Открытое выступление по радио министра иностранных дел Финляндии господина Таннера
15 декабря 1939 года

Господин комиссар по иностранным делам Молотов!

Несколько недель тому назад господин Паасикиви и я вели переговоры с Вами и господином Сталиным. Эти переговоры касались требований, предъявленных СССР об уступке ему части нашей территории. Несмотря на то, что СССР никакого законного права на предъявление подобных требований не имеет, мы от имени Финляндского Правительства готовы были пойти на весьма далеко идущие уступки. Это мы сделали для сохранения мира. Финляндия же со своей стороны никаких пожеланий не имела.

В переговорах нам не удалось найти общей почвы. От имени Финляндии мы всё же при расставании выказали желание о продолжении переговоров до заключения договора, удовлетворяющего обе стороны.

Они однако не имели места. Вина исключительно на СССР, который был к этому не склонен. Дабы отнять возможность к этому, Вы прервали дипломатические сношения. Предложение Правительства Соединённых Штатов о посредничестве Вами было отвергнуто. Также Вы отвергли сделанное нами через Шведское Правительство Вам предложение о возобновлении переговоров, несмотря на заявление Финляндского Правительства, что оно имеет возможность сделать новые, положительные предложения в целях разрешения конфликта. В ответ на эти старания Финляндии к достижению мирного решения СССР напал на нашу мирную страну. Вдобавок ко всему остальному при этом была допущена жестокость: брошены бомбы на гражданское население, убиты женщины и дети.

Только что Вы отвергли предложение Лиги Наций о прекращении военных действий и возобновлении переговоров. Это тем более странно ввиду того, что как СССР так и Финляндия состоят членами Лиги Наций.

Этими своими поступками Вы показали, что не желаете выслушать наши предложения. Дабы избавиться от этого Вы постарались закрыть все двери между нами.

Однако сообщение по воздуху свободно. Этим путем, посредством радио, я и обращаюсь к Вам с некоторыми вопросами.

В наших переговорах Вы заявили, что исключительной целью требований СССР об уступке территории является оборона СССР и в особенности города Ленинграда от возможных нападений со стороны какой нибудь великой державы.

Было ли это Вашей действительной целью?

Если да, то сделанные Финляндией уступки были по нашему мнению достаточны для достижения этой цели. В добавок к этому мы заявили о своей готовности обсудить и более далеко идущие уступки.

Однако последующие события заставляют думать, что СССР с самого начала имел более далеко идущие стремления. Вы кажется стремились к завладению всей Финляндией, к восстановлению границ царской России.

Если это Ваша цель, то Вы можете быть уверены в том, что Финляндия будет обороняться до самого конца. Её народ не хочет потерять своей самостоятельности и свободы. Финский народ никогда не подчинится чужому игу. Не стоит стремиться к этому и под прикрытием "демократических" правительств, подобных правительству наемника Вашего Куусинена. Оно никакой поддержки в Финляндии не имеет. Рабочие Финляндии принадлежат к социал-демократической партии, которая на выборах прошлого лета получила 42,5 процента поданных голосов. Что оно также не имеет поддержки Финляндских крестьян, это должно быть Вам равно известно. За Финляндским Правительством и его политикой стоит единодушный парламент. И за парламентом стоит единодушный народ. Попытки к его разъединению безнадежны. Составление правительства Куусинена не нашло никакого отзвука по эту сторону границы.

СССР желал показать себя пионером мира. Он так же заявлял, что уважает право самоопределения маленьких народов. При недавнем посещении большой сельскохозяйственной выставки в Москве я на стене одного здания прочел крылатое слово Вашего вождя Сталина: "Ни одной пяди чужой земли не хотим, но ни вершка своей земли никому не отдадим." Настоящий момент стоит того, чтобы спасти это программное изречение от забвения.

Господни Молотов!

Как совместить эти принципы, провозглашённые СССР, с Вашим нападением на маленькую, миролюбивую Финляндию?

Прошу Вас ответить на это.

При нашем расставании в Москве мы заявили о своей готовности путем переговоров продолжить старания к достижению договора, удовлетворительного для обеих сторон. Мы все ещё готовы на это, и вместе с тем готовы, как мы Вам заявили, представить новые предложения. Эта наша готовность происходит от нашего миролюбия и желания избежать ненужного кровопролития.

Уже первые 16 дней войны показали, что она будет жестокой и потребует много жертв.

Зачем проливать кровь, пока не испытаны все остальные возможности?

Готовы ли Вы снова приступить к переговорам и таким образом на деле доказать, что Ваши принципы не являются рекламным товаром?

Господин Молотов!

Прошу Вашего ответа тем же путем как и сделан этот мой вопрос. Если ответа не будет, или если он будет отрицательным, весь мир, который уже теперь с удивлением следит за Вашими действиями, узнает ценность принципов СССР.

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen