heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

There Are No Fronts, but There Is Danger

Extracts from the Report of comrade Trotsky to the Ninth Congress of Soviets, December 27, 1921

1921. There Are No Fronts, but There Is Danger

The Bands in Karelia

And, finally, our most recent experience where democracy and international law are concerned is depicted on another, more modest map, where the Karelian Labour Commune is shown, lying to the west of the frontier which we voluntarily granted to Finland, taking its economic interests into account and reconciling them with our own. To the right of this line lies the Karelian Labour Commune. It covers an area twice the size of Belgium, with a sparse, scattered population of about 150,000, spread over a huge, often impassable expanse. In this Karelian Labour Commune the Soviets of the working Karelians rule. Here, on this side, under the fiction of universal suffrage, foreign capital rules, acting through its agents, the Finnish bourgeoisie. And here, comrades, these arrows (pointing to the map) show the White-Finnish bands that were sent from Finland into Karelia. Their numbers and their direction are shown here quite precisely. These bands started to cross into our territory on October 24 and 25 – on almost the very same day as the bands of Tyutyunnyk and Palii, and in fulfilment of one and the same plan.

As a result of the reduction in our army, no troops whatsoever had been left in the Karelian Commune. We had removed the one brigade which was there. Why? We had no reason at all to suspect that even a regiment, let alone a brigade, was needed in those, parts for the maintenance of internal order.

Absolutely no addition to the strength of the bands through volunteering by the local inhabitants has been observed. Everywhere that we have come into contact with the enemy, as in the Rugozero direction, we have noted decrease and not increase in the size of the bands. Their reinforcements come from outside.

Meanwhile. Finland, in the persons of its activists, that is, the extreme chauvinists, grows more and more reckless in what it prints in its chauvinist press. Thus, you can read, day after day now, in the leading Finnish newspapers, that Soviet Russia is insufferable as a neighbour. The phraseology about being a barrier against Soviet barbarism is familiar not only to the rogues of the Paris boulevards but to the journalists of Helsingfors as well. They write that it is for them, do you see, insufferable to have Russia as a neighbour! What do you require us to do, gentlemen from Helsingfors? We cannot transfer our country elsewhere. We live where we live, and we shall stay where we are (stormy applause).

Comrades, at the Congress of Soviets, where delegates of the workers and peasants are assembled, I do not have to say how sincerely and honestly we want peace; but peace demands that Karelia be cleared of the bands, and we advise Finland, advise her very strongly, not to put an elbow or a hand over that line (pointing to the map) because we are going to pass along there in the next few days (prolonged applause). With full awareness of our responsibility we advise the Finnish commanders not to be in any hurry to measure the distance between Helsingfors and Petrograd, because, if it should come to measuring that distance – and we do not want to do this – it may turn out that the road from Petrograd to Helsingfors is shorter than the road from Helsingfors to Petrograd (prolonged applause).

© 1997–2020

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Фронтов нет – опасность есть

Выдержки из доклада товарища Троцкого на IX Съезде Советов 27 декабря 1921 года

1921 год. Фронтов нет - опасность есть

Банды в Карелии

И, наконец, последний наш опыт по части демократии и по части международного права нанесён на другой более скромной схеме, где изображена Карельская трудовая коммуна, на запад от той границы, которую мы добровольно уступили Финляндии, приняв во внимание её хозяйственные интересы и примирив их с нашими интересами. Направо от этой черты – Карельская трудовая коммуна. Это пространство земли в два раза больше, чем Бельгия, с редким разбросанным населением в 150000 человек, рассеянных на огромном, нередко непроходимом пространстве. В этой Карельской трудовой коммуне господствуют Советы трудовых карел. Здесь, по эту сторону, под фикцией всеобщего избирательного права господствует иноземный капитал через посредство своих агентов в лице финляндской буржуазии. И вот, товарищи, эти стрелы (показывает на карте) – это белофинские банды, направленные из Финляндии в Карелию. Их численность показана здесь совершенно точно, как и их направление. Эти банды стали переправляться 24 и 25 октября. Почти в один и тот же день, что и банды Тютюнника-Палия, по одному и тому же плану.

У нас, в результате сокращения армии, в Карельской коммуне не оставалось совершенно войск. Мы её очистили от единственной бригады, которая там была. Почему? У нас не было никакого основания сомневаться в том, что для утверждения внутреннего порядка там не нужно не только бригады, но и полка.

Обрастания банд за счёт местных жителей совершенно не наблюдается. Везде, где мы находимся в соприкосновении с противниками, как на Ругозерском направлении, приходится констатировать уменьшение, а не обрастание банд. Прирост сил происходит из-за границы.

В то же время Финляндия, в лице своих активистов, т.е. крайних шовинистов, и в своей шовинистической печати все более и более разнуздывается. Так, в руководящих финских газетах вы изо дня в день теперь читаете, что Советская Россия представляет собой невыносимое соседство. Фразеологию насчёт того, что мы, мол, являемся барьером против советского варварства, знают не только прощелыги парижских бульваров, но и журналисты Гельсингфорса. Они пишут, что Россия представляет собой для них – видите ли – невыносимое соседство! Что же вы прикажете нам делать, господа из Гельсингфорса? Мы не можем нашу страну перенести в другое место. Мы живём там, где мы живём, и мы останемся там, где мы стоим (бурные аплодисменты).

Товарищи, на Съезде Советов, где собрались делегаты рабочих и крестьян, я не должен говорить о том, насколько искренно и честно хотим мира, но мир требует очищения Карелии от банд, и мы советуем, очень и очень советуем Финляндии за эту черту (показывает по карте) не высовывать ни локтей, ни рук, потому что мы в ближайшие дни здесь пройдёмся (продолжительные аплодисменты). Мы с полным сознанием ответственности, советуем финским полководцам не торопиться мерить расстояние от Гельсингфорса до Петрограда, ибо, если придётся мерить – а мы этого не хотим, – то окажется, что путь от Петрограда до Гельсингфорса короче, чем путь от Гельсингфорса до Петрограда (продолжительные аплодисменты).

© 1997–2020