heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Karelian Commemorative Medal

1923. Karelian Commemorative Medal

At March 15, 1923 the Karelian Temporary National Liberation Government-in-exile instituted the Karelian Commemorative Medal. It was awarded to Finnish citizens – participants of the White Sea Karelian expeditions and East Karelian Uprising, as well to those who actively contributed to them.

Circular bronze medal was created by Finnish artist Ilmari Wirkkala. The face size within a ring inscribed ‘Not in Words, but in Deeds’. The reverse size inscribed ‘On behalf of Karelia’. The diameter of the Commemorative medal is 28 millimetres. The medal is attached to a black ribbon with a red stripe in the middle.

The number of awards by the Karelian Commemorative Medal was about 2500 people. On March 29, 1936, the Minister of Defense of Finland confirmed that the medal can be worn on the military uniform of the country's Defence Forces.

Karelian Commemorative Medal Karelian Commemorative Medal
Karelian Commemorative Medal Karelian Commemorative Medal

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Медаль в память Карельского восстания

1923 год. Медаль в память Карельского восстания

15 марта 1923 года Временное правительство национального освобождения Карелии (в изгнании) приняло решение об учреждении медали в память Карельского восстания. Она вручалась гражданам Финляндии – непосредственным участникам Беломорских походов и Карельского восстания, а равно тем, кто активно им способствовал.

Круглая бронзовая медаль была создана финским художником Илмари Вирккала. На лицевой стороне по окружности расположена надпись «Не словом, но делом». На оборотной стороне – «На стороне Карелии». Диаметр памятной медали – 28 миллиметров. Медаль крепится к чёрной ленте с красной полосой посередине.

Количество награждений медалью в память Карельского восстания составило порядка двух с половиной тысяч человек. 29 марта 1936 года министр обороны Финляндии подтвердил право ношения медали на мундире оборонительного ведомства страны.

Медаль в память Карельского восстания Медаль в память Карельского восстания
Медаль в память Карельского восстания Медаль в память Карельского восстания

© 1997–2021