heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Telegram to League of Nations Secretary Avenol

Mr. Secretary,
The USSR, with which Finland has maintained good-neighborly relations since the signing of the peace treaty in Tartu in 1920, and with which Finland has signed a non-aggression pact, the validity of which expires only in 1945, suddenly on the morning of Nov. 30 of this year, attacked not only frontier positions, but also open Finnish cities, spreading death and devastation among the civilian population, particularly by attacks from the air.

Finland has never taken any measures against her powerful neighbor. She invariably has expended the greatest efforts in order to live at peace with the USSR. Nevertheless, basing itself on the alleged refusal of Finland to agree on the question of the so-called border incidents, and accusing Finland of allegedly refusing to agree to the strengthening of the security of Leningrad, the USSR first denounced the above-mentioned non-aggression pact, and then rejected the proposal of the Government of Finland to resort to mediation by some neutral power.

On instructions from my Government I have the honor of informing you of the above-mentioned facts, with the request to have the kindness to convene the Council and the Assembly immediately, as provided by Articles 11 and 15 of the Covenant, and to request them to take all necessary measures to stop aggression, I shall not fail to furnish you with a complete statement of the reasons and circumstances which compelled my Government to request the League of Nations to intervene in the conflict which has led to a clash between two of its members.


Rudolf Holsti
December 3, 1939

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Телеграмма Генеральному Секретарю Лиги Наций Авенолю

Господин Генеральный секретарь,
СССР, с которым Финляндия поддерживала с момента подписания мирного договора в Тарту в 1920 году добрососедские отношения и подписала пакт о ненападении, срок действия которого истекал только в 1945 году, внезапно напал утром 30-го ноября сего года не только на пограничные позиции, но также и на открытые финляндские города, сея смерть и опустошение среди гражданского населения, особенно воздушными атаками.

Финляндия никогда ничего не предпринимала против своего мощного соседа. Она не переставала прилагать самые большие усилия, чтобы жить с ним в мире. Тем не менее, ссылаясь на мнимый отказ Финляндии согласиться с так называемыми пограничными инцидентами и обвиняя в мнимом отказе Финляндию согласиться на укрепление безопасности Ленинграда, СССР сначала денонсирует упомянутый выше пакт о ненападении и затем отказывается от предложения финляндского правительства прибегнуть к посредничеству какой-либо нейтральной державы.

По указанию моего правительства я имею честь довести вышеизложенное до Вашего сведения с просьбой соблаговолить созвать немедленно, в силу статей 11 и 15-й пакта, Совет и Ассамблею и просить их принять все необходимые меры, чтобы остановить агрессию. Я не премину представить Вам полное изложение причин и обстоятельств, которые заставили мое правительство просить вмешательства Лиги Наций в конфликт, приведший к столкновению двух из ее членов.


Рудольф Холсти
3 декабря 1939 года

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen