heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Resolution adopted by the Assembly of the League of Nations

The Assembly:

I. Whereas, by the aggression which it has committed against Finland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics has failed to observe not only its special agreements with Finland but also Article 12 of the Covenant of the League of Nations and the Pact of Paris;
And whereas, immediately before committing that aggression, it denounced, without legal justification, the Treaty of Non-Aggression which it had concluded with Finland in 1932, and which was to remain in force until the end of 1945:
Solemnly condemns the action taken by the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics against the State of Finland;
Urgently appeals to every Member of the League to provide Finland with such material and humanitarian assistance as may be in its power and to refrain from any action which might weaken Finland's power of resistance;
Authorises the Secretary-General to lend the aid of his technical services in the organisation of the aforesaid assistance to Finland;
And likewise authorises the Secretary-General, in virtue of the Assembly resolution of October 4th, 1937, to consult non-member States with a view to possible co-operation.

II. Whereas, notwithstanding an invitation extended to it on two occasions, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics has refused to be present at the examination of its dispute with Finland before the Council and the Assembly;
And whereas, by thus refusing to recognise the duty of the Council and the Assembly as regards the execution of Article 15 of the Covenant, it has failed to observe one of the League's most essential covenants for the safeguarding of peace and the security of nations;
And whereas it has vainly attempted to justify its refusal on the ground of the relations which it has established with an alleged Government which is neither de jure nor de facto the Government recognised by the people of Finland in accordance with the free working of their institutions;
And whereas the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics has not merely violated a covenant of the League, but has by its own action placed itself outside the Covenant;
And whereas the Council is competent under Article 16 of the Covenant to consider what consequences should follow from this situation:
Recommends the Council to pronounce upon the question.


December 14, 1939

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Резолюция Генеральной Ассамблеи Лиги Наций

Генеральная Ассамблея:

I. Констатируя, что Советский Союз своим нападением на Финляндию нарушил как заключенные с Финляндией политические двусторонние соглашения, так и статью 12 Устава Лиги Наций и Парижский коллективный договор;
и что Советский Союз только непосредственно перед этим нападением без законного права денонсировал заключенный с Финляндией в 1932 году пакт о ненападении, срок действия которого истекал лишь в конце 1945 года:
торжественно осуждает действия Советского Союза против Финляндского государства;
обращается ко всем членам Лиги с призывом, чтобы они в соответствии со своими возможностями оказывали бы Финляндии материальную и бескорыстную помощь и воздержались бы от любой деятельности, которая могла бы ослабить способность Финляндии сопротивляться;
предоставляет Генеральному секретарю право использовать свои технические отделы для организации вышеупомянутой помощи Финляндии;
предоставляет Генеральному секретарю также право выяснить, на основе принятой 4 октября 1937 года Генеральной Ассамблеей резолюции, мнение не состоящих в Лиге государств относительно возможных совместных действий.

II. Учитывая, что Советский Союз, несмотря на дважды отправленные приглашения, отказался от рассмотрения на Совете и Ассамблее своего конфликта с Финляндией;
что Советский Союз, отказавшись признать действия Совета и Ассамблеи по выполнению статьи 15 Устава, нарушил одно из важнейших обязательств Лиги — гарантировать народам мир и безопасность;
что Советский Союз напрасно пытался обосновать свой отказ, ссылаясь на отношения, которые он установил со спорным правительством, ни юридически, ни фактически не являющимся правительством, законно признанным финляндским народом;
что Советский Союз не только виновен в нарушении одного из обязательств Устава, но и поставил себя своими действиями вне Устава;
что в соответствии со статьей 16 Устава Совет имеет право сделать вытекающие из этой ситуации выводы:
предлагает, чтобы Совет принял этот вопрос к решению.


14 декабря 1939 года

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen