Description of the territory ceded by the Republic of Finland to the Soviet Union

Annex to the Treaty between the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the Republic of Finland of 3 February 1947

The initial point of the boundary of the aforesaid territory is the point on the State frontier between the USSR and Finland at 68 52.2' north latitude and 28 48.4' east longitude.

Thence the boundary line delimiting the territory runs north-west to the point at 68 53.2' north latitude and 28 40' east longitude and then west to the point at 68 53.1' north latitude and 28 28.4' east longitude.

The boundary line then continues north-west, across the Paatsjoki river, to the point at 68 54.9' north latitude and 28 25.2' east longitude. From this point the boundary line runs north-east to the point at 68 55.8' north latitude and 28 30' east longitude and thence due north-east to the point of intersection of the State frontiers of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, Norway and Finland.

The Mixed USSR-Finnish Frontier Commission mentioned in article 3 of the Treaty shall place markers along the frontier and prepare a detailed description of the boundary line of the aforesaid territory and enter this line on a map with a scale of 1:25,000.

The description of the boundary line and the map prepared by the Commission shall be subject to ratification by both Governments.

P.Kumykin Uuno Takki
Sakari Tuomioja