heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

Agreement concerning passenger traffic on the Saimaa Canal and in the territory leased by the Republic of Finland from the USSR and concerning transit traffic to Leningrad

The Government of the Republic of Finland and the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics,
Having regard to the favourable development of friendly, goodneighbourly relations between the Republic of Finland and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics on the basis of the Finnish-Soviet Treaty of Friendship, Co-operation and Mutual Assistance of l948,
In response to the desire of the Government of the Republic of Finland to use the Saimaa Canal for passenger traffic,
Desiring to settle these matters with a view to ensuring comprehensive cooperation between the two countries,
Have decided to conclude this Agreement and have for that purpose appointed as their plenipotentiaries:
The Government of the Republic of Finland:
Urho Kiukas, Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Finland for the Saimaa Canal;
The Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics:
Georgy Yakovlevich Pyasetsky, Plenipotentiary of the USSR for the Saimaa Canal,
who, having exchanged their full powers, found in good and due form, have agreed as follows:

Article 1

The Contracting Parties agree to the opening of passenger traffic on the Saimaa Canal, on the Soviet part of the Canal and in the territory leased by the Republic of Finland, and of transit traffic to and from Leningrad, beginning in 1968 and throughout the period of operation of the Agreement of 27 September 1962 between the Republic of Finland and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics concerning the lease to the Republic of Finland of the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal and Maly Vysotsky Island.

Article 2

Passengers may be carried by water on board passenger vessels, freight-and-passenger vessels or pleasure craft sailing under the Hag of the Republic of Finland or of the USSR in the directions indicated in article 1 of this Agreement. However, Finnish pleasure craft may pass through the leased territory of the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal only if the permission of the competent Finnish and Soviet authorities is obtained in each case.

After crossing the Finnish-Soviet State frontier, vessels shall, while in the internal and territorial waters of the Republic of Finland, proceed only along he fairway recommended by the competent authorities of the Republic of Finland and, while in the internal and territorial waters of the USSR, proceed only along the fairway recommended by the competent authorities of the USSR.

Passage through the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal by vessels of any kind sailing under the flag of a third country, with the exception of trading vessels engaged in the commercial transport of goods or in towing to or from the Republic of Finland, shall not be permitted.

Article 3

Combined passenger traffic by vessel and by motor vehicle shall be permitted. Passengers may transfer from one means of transport to another at Leningrad or at the Vyborg transit point.

Article 4

Travel by nationals of the Republic of Finland, the USSR or third countries in the directions indicated in article 1 of this Agreement shall, if their route crosses the Finnish-Soviet State frontier, be permitted only if the persons concerned are in possession of the appropriate passports and entry and exit visas.

The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties shall carry out frontier, customs and health control at points to be designated by each Contracting Party in its own territory.

Article 5

The crews and passengers of vessels shall be required, on the Finnish part of the Saimaa Canal and in Finnish internal and territorial waters, to comply with the laws, rules, regulations, instructions and directions in force in the territory of the Republic of Finland and, on the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal and in Soviet internal and territorial waters, to comply with the laws, rules, regulations, instructions and directions in force in the territory of the USSR.

Article 6

The rental for the passage through the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal of passenger vessels, freight-and-passenger vessels and pleasure craft sailing under the Hag of the Republic of Finland shall be calculated, on the basis of the gross registered tonnage of the said vessels, in the manner specified in article 10 of the Agreement of 27 September 1962 between the Republic of Finland and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics concerning the lease to the Republic of Finland of the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal and Maly Vysotsky Island, one gross registered ton being deemed equivalent to one ton of goods transported.

Article 7

The provisions of this Agreement relate only to transit passenger traffic on the Saimaa Canal. In all other matters relating to passenger traffic which are connected with the interpretation and application of this Agreement, the Contracting Parties shall apply the provisions of the Agreement of 27 September 1962 between the Republic of Finland and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics concerning the lease to the Republic of Finland of the Soviet part of the Saimaa Canal and Maly Vysotsky Island.

This Agreement is subject to approval by the Government of each of the Contracting Parties. It shall enter into force on the date of the exchange of notes concerning its approval and shall remain in force for the period specified in article 1 of this Agreement or until the expiry of ninety days from the date on which one of the Contracting Parties gives notice of its intention to terminate the Agreement.

Done at Helsinki, on 7 March 1968, in duplicate in the Finnish and Russian languages, both texts being equally authentic.

For the Government of the Republic of Finland:
Urho Kiukas

For the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics:
G.Pyasetsky

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

Соглашение о пассажирском движении по Сайменскому каналу, арендуемой Финляндской Республикой у СССР территории и далее транзитом на Ленинград

Правительство Финляндской Республики и Правительство Союза Советских Социалистических Республик,
принимая во внимание благоприятное развитие добрососедских, дружественных отношений между Финляндской Республикой и Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик на основе финляндско-советского Договора о дружбе, сотрудничестве и взаимной помощи 1948 года,
идя навстречу пожеланиям Правительства Финляндской Республики об использовании Сайменского канала для пассажирского движения,
желая решить эти вопросы в интересах всестороннего взаимного сотрудничества,
решили заключить настоящее Соглашение и с этой целью назначили своими Уполномоченными:
Правительство Финляндской Республики - Киукаса Урхо - Уполномоченного Финляндской Республики по Сайменскому каналу,
Правительство Союза Советских Социалистических Республик - Пясецкого Георгия Яковлевича - Уполномоченного СССР по Сайменскому каналу,
которые после обмена полномочиями, найденными в должной форме и надлежащем порядке, договорились о нижеследующем:

Статья 1

Договаривающиеся Стороны соглашаются на открытие пассажирского движения по Сайменскому каналу, по советской части Сайменского канала и территории, арендуемой Финляндской Республикой, и далее транзитом на Ленинград или в обратном направлении, начиная с 1968 года на весь период действия Договора между Финляндской Республикой и Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик о передаче в аренду Финляндской Республике советской части Сайменского канала и острова Малый Высоцкий от 27 сентября 1962 года.

Статья 2

Водные пассажирские перевозки могут осуществляться на пассажирских, грузо-пассажирских и спортивных судах под флагом Финляндской Республики или СССР по направлениям, указанным в статье 1 настоящего Соглашения. Причём финляндские спортивные суда будут проходить по арендованной территории советской части Сайменского канала в каждом случае лишь с разрешения финляндских и советских компетентных властей.

После пересечения финляндско-советской государственной границы суда следуют во внутренних и территориальных водах Финляндской Республики по фарватерам, рекомендованным компетентными властями Финляндской Республики, а во внутренних и территориальных водах СССР только по фарватеру, рекомендованному компетентными властями СССР.

Проход по советской части Сайменского канала Судов под флагом третьих стран любого назначения, кроме торговых судов, занимающихся коммерческими перевозками грузов и буксировкой из Финляндской Республики или в Финляндскую Республику, не разрешается.

Статья 3

Допускается применение комбинированного пассажирского движения на судах и автотранспортом. Перемена пассажирского вида транспорта может быть произведена в Ленинграде или в транзитном пункте Выборге.

Статья 4

Проезд пассажиров - граждан Финляндской Республики, граждан СССР и третьих стран - по направлениям, указанным в статье 1 настоящего Соглашения, в случае, если маршрут их путешествия пролегает через финляндско-советскую государственную границу, разрешается только при наличии у этих пассажиров надлежащим образом оформленных паспортов и соответствующих въездных и выездных виз.

Соответствующие органы Договаривающихся Сторон будут осуществлять пограничный, таможенный и санитарный контроль в пунктах, которые устанавливаются по усмотрению каждой из Договаривающихся Сторон на своей территории.

Статья 5

Экипажи судов и пассажиры обязаны выполнять на финской части Сайменского канала и в финских внутренних и территориальных водах законы, положения, правила, инструкции и указания, действующие на территории Финляндской Республики, а на советской части Сайменского канала, в советских внутренних и территориальных водах законы, положения, правила, инструкции и указания, действующие на территории СССР.

Статья 6

Исчисление арендной платы за проход по советской части Сайменского канала пассажирских, грузо-пассажирских и спортивных судов под флагом Финляндской Республики будет производиться по брутто-регистровому тоннажу этих судов, как за каждую тонну перевозимого груза в соответствии со статьёй 10 Договора между Финляндской Республикой и Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик о передаче в аренду Финляндской Республике советской части Сайменского канала и острова Малый Высоцкий от 27 сентября 1962 года.

Статья 7

Данное Соглашение определяет только условия транзитного пассажирского движения по Сайменскому каналу. Во всех других вопросах пассажирского движения, которые связаны с толкованием и выполнением настоящего Соглашения, Договаривающиеся Стороны будут исходить из условий Договора между Финляндской Республикой и Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик о передаче в аренду Финляндской Республике советской части Сайменского канала и острова Малый Высоцкий от 27 сентября 1962 года.

Настоящее Соглашение подлежит утверждению Правительством каждой из Договаривающихся Сторон. Оно вступит в силу в день обмена нотами, извещающими о его утверждении, и будет действовать в течение срока, предусмотренного в статье 1 настоящего Соглашения или до истечения 90 дней со дня, когда одна из Договаривающихся Сторон сообщит о своём намерении прекратить действие Соглашения.

Совершено в городе Хельсинки 7 марта 1968 года в двух экземплярах, каждый на финском и русском языках, причём оба текста имеют одинаковую силу.

По уполномочию Правительства Финляндской Республики:
Урхо Киукас

По уполномочию Правительства Союза Советских Социалистических Республик:
Г.Пясецкий

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen