heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

1785

The abstract from the book
"Travelling by Ladoga and Onego lakes"
by academician N.Ozeretskovsky

Part III


Though have not seen myself, but heard in Serdobol and several villages that in bad harvest years Karelians use rye straw for subsistence, which for this matter is finely chopped, dried in oven and then grounded by pestles producing some kind of flour that is used for bread baking, though always mixed with some part of oats flour. Coastal dwellers also tell that Karelians living near Swedish border, were places are mainly marshy forests, very often have goitres and for cure use the roots of Fumaria bulbosa that is called rust in that places. These roots are boiled in small amount of water and the resulting fluid is drank in big volumes helping so to get rid of those ugly goitres.

There is a big bay called Yanislahta that goeth to the north just after Lyaskilya river mouth. As this bay stretcheth far into mainland, to avoid long journey around it the way from Serdobol is usually by water to Leppinermy cape, then around two miles by feet to the churchyard at the apex of Impilahti bay and there goes a road to Olonets.

Just before Leppinermy cape close to the shore there is a small village Gunuk. Those going by vater have to double the cape to enter Impilahti bay that penetrates some 2 leagues into the mainland. A small river Galin-oya mouths the bay. Close to the apex of the bay there is a ling isle Kili-saari (Gouts Island) that all is made up of a stone reach of iron and ferropyrites. There are found big beautiful Apollo butterflies two of which I happen to catch there.

On the mountain on the other side of the mouth of Impilahti bay there is a Lutheran church. A priest and a chaplain live there. This township is the last were inhabitants are mainly of Lutheran belief. The inhabitants of the next Salmi township though also belonging to Serdobol circuit and same Karelians as in Impilahti and Ruskeala townships are all of Greek-Russian belief. In other Serdobol circuit townships the followers of this belief are rather seldom met.

Part IV

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

1785

Фрагменты из книги академика Н.Я.Озерецковского
"Путешествие по озерам Ладожскому и Онежскому"

Часть III


Я не видал, но слышал, как в Сердоболе, так и в разных деревнях, что карелы в недостатке хлеба делают себе в оном подспорье ржаною соломою, которую на такой конец мелко рубят сечками, изрубленную, высуша в печи, толкут пестами в ступах; таким образом приводят ее в некоторый род муки и пекут из нее хлебы, всегда однако ж примешивая к ней часть овсяной муки. Набережные жители сказывали также про карелов живущих близ шведской границы, где места наибольше лесные, низкие и болотистые, что многие из них имеют на шее зобы, для разбития которых с пользою употребляют корень травы раст называемой (Fumaria bulbosa). Из корня сего делают они с водою крепкий навар, которого пьют много и тем от безобразных своих зобов избавляются.

От устья вышесказанной реки Ляскели в северный угол озера простирается большая губа, Янислахта называемая, чрез которую из Сердоболя обыкновенно яздят водою до мыса Леппенеми, чтоб избежать дальнего сухим путем объезда около оной губы; чрез упомянутый мыс переходят пешком близ трех верст до погоста, лежащего при конце Имбилацкой губы, и оттуда отправляются уже сухим путем к Олонцу.

Перед мысом Леппенеми, в близком расстоянии от берега, лежит деревушка Гунук, от которой едучи водою надобно объезжать мыс, за коим Имбилацкая губа верст на восемь внутрь земли простирается. В нее втекает небольшая речка Галин-оя. В конце сей губы лежит длинный островок Кили-саари называемый (Козий остров), который весь состоит из камня кошечьим золотом и железиною обильного. В сем месте водятся пригожие большие бабочки аполлоны, которых изловил я тут двух.

На горе за Имбилацкою губою стоит лютеранская церковь, при которой живет пастор с капелланом. Погост сей есть последний, в котором жители наибольше лютеранского исповедания; за ним следует Салминский погост, который, хотя также принадлежит к Сердобольской округе и хотя обыватели в нем такие же карелы, как в Имбилацком и Рускальском погостах, но все уже они греко-российской веры, в прочих же погостах между лютеранами число последних весьма невелико.

Часть IV

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen