heninen.net
heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997News from The Site    On This Day in History

1785

The abstract from the book
"Travelling by Ladoga and Onego lakes"
by academician N.Ozeretskovsky

Part V

Some six furlongs from Tuloma river the Minola river enters the salma, near the mouth of which there is a village of the same name. There are some two furlongs from it to Peremya Strait and here the salma - a wide bay separated from the main water basin by the chain of islands - ends. This salma is also reputed as a very good place for fishing.

The simple draft of these islands was given to me by Counts's Orlovs mills supervisor Makovkin, and that was the first time a saw so exact card of these islands and straits.

The peasant of Impilahti and Salmi townships uses to set short hollow wooden logs on the high trees. These logs are used for breeding by two breeds of ducks, called here tsherned and gogol (Anas Fuligula et Anas Clangula). The inhabitants use the laid eggs for food. But if they put some eggs under domestic ducks, tsherned and gogol could soon be domesticated too.

Some league from the mentioned Peremya Strait there is Karakulitsy village. Three leagues from it in the lake not far from the shore there is a very big stone called here Varashev Stone and the water just toucheth it's foot. It is about 11 feet high, 20 feet long and 13 feet wide, looks like a tremendous brick and made of the red granite. This stone is without any hesitation made by human hands, as it is alone here and for a long way there is no any rocks and also, there are letters cut on it's upper surface, stating the year and they are presented here.

They say that this stone was a long time ago a border stone between Sweden and Russia, but why it is called Varashev Stone nobody could tell. Now it serveth as a border stone between Serdobol and Olonets districts.

From the said Peremya Strait the shore is low and is cowered with the grass Drosera rotundifolia (Angustifolia) that is called by local inhabitants Sungrass or Tsar's Eyes. And I quite often found the flowers with six pistils instead of usual five and often their ends were divided on to, making a kind of fork.

Opposite the Varashev Stone a small cape, covered with forest, enters the lake. Several fishermen huts are built on it. They are used by inhabitants of Kondushi village, that is about two miles from the shore and one has to go through thick forest to get to it. From this cape the shore is no more stone-covered - it is now covered with the yellow sands that go on over Olonka River mouth.

Part VI

© 1997–2016
Send a message to Andrew Heninen

heninen.net
heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаНовое на сайте    Этот день в истории

1785

Фрагменты из книги академика Н.Я.Озерецковского
"Путешествие по озерам Ладожскому и Онежскому"

Часть V

За Туломою в одной версте с половиною впадает в салму река Минола, пред устьем которой лежит деревня того же имени. От сей до пролива Перямы версты с полтретьи, и здесь кончится салма или обширная губа, между островами и матерою землею заключающаяся, которая для рыбной ловли выгодным почитается местом.

Простое начертание описанных островов, сообщенное мне от графского прикащика Маковкина с помощию карты Ладожского озера, яснейшее о сих местах может дать понятие.

По берегу озера как в Имбилацком, так и в Салминском погостах на высоких деревах ставят жители небольшие ульи с открытыми отверстиями, в которые залетают две породы диких уток, называемых чернеди и гоголи (Anas Fuligula et Anas Clangula), и кладут в оных улейках яйца, которые жители употребляют в пищу; но если бы они подкладывали их под домашних птиц и давали им яйца оные высиживать, то бы со временем чернеди и гоголи могли сделаться дворовыми утками.

От вышесказанного пролива Перямы в пяти верстах лежит деревня Каркулицы; от сей в 12 верстах находится близ берега превеликий камень Варашев прозываемый, которого основание озерная вода понимает. Он вышиною четырех аршин с половиною, длиною осьми аршин, шириною пяти аршин с половиною, вид имеет некоторым образом четвероугольный и есть род красного гранита. Камень сей положен на оном месте без сумнения человеческими руками, потому что он один только тут находится и на великом от него расстоянии никаких других камней не встречается; сверх того на поверхности сего камня высечены буквы, лето означающие, которые здесь представляются.

Сказывают, что камень сей был некогда порубежным знаком между Россиею и Швециею; но почему прозван он Варашевым, того объяснить никто мне не мог. Ныне служит он к отделению Сердобольского уезда от Олонецкого.

От вышесказанного пролива Перямы по низменному берегу растет травка солнечною росою и царскими очами называемая (Drosera rotundifolia и angustifolia), на которой вместо пяти пестиков (stilus), как обыкновенно бывает, многократно находил я их по шести с разделенными наподобие вилочек кончиками (stigmata bifida).

Против камня Варашева выдается в озеро небольшой мыс, лесом покрытый, на котором построены рыбачьи избы. Здесь рыбу ловят жители деревни Кондушей, которая отдалена от озерного берега версты на две и к ней от озера густым лесом пробираться должно. От мыска оного по озерному берегу булыжника более не видно, а покрыт он желтым песком, который продолжается за устье реки Олонки.

Часть VI

© 1997–2016
Отправить сообщение Andrew Heninen