heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search      Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

Terrible fate of Pekka Davidov

Oath of Allegiance of the Workers' and Peasants' Red Army

Another fallen red leader
Atrocities of bloody Reds at the front-line
Red atrocities in the Olonets Karelia
Letter of Finnish bloody Red Soldier
Atrocities of Olonets Bolsheviks
Excerpt from a short story "Bruno is Dead"
Finnish Red Guards murdered many prisoners of war in the White Sea Karelia
Petrozavodsk. Common Grave of Communists
Afterword

In early June 1919, shortly before that the Second Regiment of the Olonets Volunteer Army under the command of Jäger Major Paavo Talvela captured Polovina Village, two patrolmen were sent there to investigate. One of them, twenty-year-old Karelian Pekka Davydov, from Nyalmozero Village of the Veshkelitsa Parish of the Syamozero volost, fell into the hands of the Reds.

Polovina Village was defended by the First Battalion of the 164th Finnish Infantry Regiment, led by Red Commander Viking Sevelius. On June 13, the Whites attacked the village and after a heavy battle forced the Reds to withdraw across the Vilga River in the direction of Petrozavodsk.

The mutilated remains of Pekka Davydov were found and it immediately became clear that an act of cannibalism had been committed. As additional evidences were the stories of the villagers and the testimony of one of the Red prisoner of war. In addition, although the wounded and captured Viking Sevelius was immediately shot, in his pocket was found a letter related to cannibalism. Two photos were taken of victim's body by two photographers and one of them was a Danish journalist.

Did itself Viking Sevelius torture Pekka Davydov? Did he made the order to do this? Did he taste the "butcher’s* meat"? All this remains unproven. But all of the above was committed by the Finnish Red Guards who were under his command, and therefore he is unequivocally fully responsible for this act of cannibalism. And in any case, Red Commander Viking Sevelius remains in Finnish oral lore as a cannibal who devouring his victims alive.

Terrible events was also reflected in autobiographical short story of Uuno Kailas "Bruno is Dead".

At July 1919, Viking Sevelius and some of the Finnish Red Guards from his Battalion were reburied in the center of Petrozavodsk, in so-called Common Grave of Communists.

* A derogatory name for a Finnish White Guard
© 1997–2022User Agreement

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Ужасная судьба Пекки Давыдова

Торжественное обещание при вступлении в рабоче-крестьянскую Красную армию

Ещё один погибший красный вожак
Зверства краснопузых на фронте
Зверства красных в Олонецкой Карелии
Письмо финского краснопузого солдата
Зверства олонецких большевиков
Фрагмент из новеллы «Бруно мёртв»
Финские красногвардейцы убили в Беломорской Карелии многих военнопленных
Петрозаводск. Братская могила коммунистов
Послесловие

В начале июня 1919 года, незадолго до того, как второй полк Олонецкой добровольческой армии под командованием егерского майора Пааво Талвела овладел деревней Половина, туда была отправлена пара разведчиков. Один из них, двадцатилетний карел Пекка Давыдов, уроженец деревни Нялмозеро Вешкельского прихода Сямозерской волости, угодил в руки красных.

Деревню Половина оборонял возглавляемый красным командиром Викингом Севелиусом первый батальон 164-го финского стрелкового полка. 13 июня белые атаковали деревню и после тяжёлого боя вынудили красных отойти через реку Вилга в направлении города Петрозаводска.

Истерзанные останки Пекки Давыдова были найдены и сразу же стало ясно, что имел место акт каннибализма. Дополнительными тому доказательствами явились также рассказы деревенских жителей и показания одного из пленных. Кроме того, хотя раненым попавший в плен Викинг Севелиус был тотчас же застрелен, в его кармане было обнаружено письмо, имевшее отношение к данному эксцессу. Тело жертвы было заснято двумя разными фотографами, одним из которых был датский корреспондент.

Терзал ли Викинг Севелиус Пекку Давыдова лично? Отдавал ли он приказ делать это? Попробовал ли он сам «лахтарского* мясца»? Это осталось недоказанным. Но всё вышеперечисленное было совершено находившимися под его начальством финскими красногвардейцами, а потому он однозначно несёт полную ответственность за данный случай каннибализма. В любом случае, в финскую устную традицию красный командир Викинг Севелиус вошёл людоедом, заживо пожирающим своих пленников.

Эти ужасающие события также упоминаются в автобиографической новелле Ууно Кайласа «Бруно мёртв».

В июле 1919 года Викинг Севелиус и некоторые из финских красногвардейцев его батальона были перезахоронены в самом центре Петрозаводска, в так называемой Братской могиле коммунистов.

* lahtari – буквально: «мясник» – уничижительное наименование финского белогвардейца
© 1997–2022