heninen.netSuomi | Русский
since 1997Text Search     Image, Video and Audio SearchNews from The Site   On This Day in History

The fates of the participants in the Olonets expedition

The fates of the participants in the Olonets expedition

Sad memory of the Olonets expedition
Death of Lyceum student Yrjö Saarenpuu
The last letter to relatives from volunteer Viktor Ervasti, who was sentenced to death in Olonets Karelia
More about the sad memory of the Olonets expedition
”More about the sad memory of the Olonets expedition”
Death of Yrjö Saarenpuu
Still more clarity about the execution of Yrjö Saarenpuu
Reality is often more wonderful than fiction
Descriptions of Russia
Native of Heinola died in Olonets
Bruno is dead
Freedom fighter fell in the Olonets Karelia
Captive of Rahja
Elias Simojoki fell
Tavastia Battalion
Man from city of Hämeenlinna wounded in Olonets Karelia
Finns fallen in the Olonets Karelia and were buried there

The Finnish War of Independence ended, a victory parade held in Helsinki and the warriors returned home. In the spring of 1919, lot of youths who did not take part in the war due to age limits, got a chance to take part in the Olonets expedition.

Due to the ban on the recruitment of volunteers in the military age to the Olonets expedition, the majority were from 16 to 20 years old, but there were also younger ones. Student youth were well represented, but young workers and peasant sons were also present. Lot of youths made decisions under the influence of peers, regardless of the presence or absence of permission from their parents.

The fates of the participants in the Olonets expedition developed by different ways. Lyceum student Yrjö Saarenpuu was, possible innocently, executed by his own side. Another lyceum student – Viljo Heinonen – was captured and remained in obscurity for two years. He became a writer and rector of the Lyceum of Pori.

Heinola residents Bruno Schildt and Uuno Salonen (in future – famous Finnish poet Uuno Kailas) were close friends. During the Finnish War of Independence, Bruno fought at the front, but Uuno had stayed home. Therefore, Uuno had not hesitated when in 1919 arose the opportunity take part with Bruno as a volunteers in the Olonets expedition. However, Bruno's mother had persuaded her son not to leave, and Bruno had already canceled his departure when Uuno convinced him that he could not leave.

On May 23, 1919, Uuno Salonen, Bruno Schildt and his brother Lasse Schildt left for the Olonets Karelia as part of a group of Finnish volunteers. Youths fought in the 1st Company of the 2nd Battalion of the Regiment under the command of Paavo Talvela.

On June 30, 1919, Bruno Schildt disappeared on a patrol trip. Bruno's death was a crushing blow to Uuno, whose memory did not leave him alone for the rest of his life. Even in his last letter written on his deathbed, Uuno Kailas said that he still had dreamed of Bruno Schildt. The guilt that Uuno Kailas felt, was reflected in his autobiographical short story "Bruno is Dead".

Then began the Finnish War of Independence, Elias Simelius was a 7th grade student at the Oulu Lyceum. He volunteered for the First Front Squad and marched from Oulu to Pori and Tampere.

One year later, without waiting for completion of graduation tests, he, against the will of his parents, went to Olonets Karelia together with his six classmates. During this time, he was planning a military career. But a turning point t in his life took place in the Ulvany Village. Elias Simelius was captured by the Bolsheviks, but managed to escape and jumped off the bridge into the icy water of the Ulvanka River. While swimming, he promised God that if he saves him, he would begin to study theology and forget about military career forever.

Elias Simelius returned home and began his studies at the University of Helsinki. Sculptor Victor Jansson chose him as a model for the Freedom Monuments in Tampere and in Lahti, both unveiled in 1921.

At the end of 1921 came information from the East Karelia about about the beginning of the uprising and Elias Simelius joined a demolition detail under the command of Reserve Lieutenant Pauli Marttina, whose task was to cut the line of the Murmansk railway (blow up the railway bridge across the Svir River). However, the sabotage failed, and the group had to turn back.

In 1922 Elias Simelius and his ideological brothers founded the Academic Karelian Society. In 1923 he graduated from the University of Helsinki and was ordained a priest. In 1926 he changed his last name to Simojoki. Elias Simojoki proved himself as far-right politician and from 1933 to 1939 he was a Member of Parliament for the Patriotic People's Movement party.

When the Winter War broke out Elias Simojoki volunteered for the front-line. He became military chaplain of the 39th Infantry Regiment. His life was cut short on the ice of Lake Ladoga in the Bay of Koirinoja. He went to a no-man's land putting down a wounded Red Army horse, shot it and already turned back when he was mown down by an enemy machine gun.

Ilmari Rytkönen also took part in the Finnish War of Independence, he fought in Vilppula and Lempäälä, then in Savo and in the Lahti region. At the spring of 1918 he graduated from Hämeenlinna Lyceum and at the autumn began his studies in the Higher School of Commerce, but already in January 1919 he went to the Estonian War of Independence as a platoon commander. On January 31, 1919, he took part in the Battle of Paju manor near the city of Valga and was seriously wounded by enemy machine gun fire. In the same battle the legendary hero of the Estonian War of Independence Julius Kuperjanov was mortally wounded.

Nevertheless, already in May 1919, Ilmari Rytkönen was ready to go on the Olonets expedition as a company commander in the volunteer Tavastia battalion. In mid-June, in Olonets Karelia, he got a bullet in his leg.

After the end of the Kinship Wars, Ilmari Rytkönen became a career officer, he took part in the Winter War, the Continuation War and the Lapland War. In the summer of 1944, Lieutenant Colonel Rytkönen was the commander of the 44th Infantry Regiment. In fierce battles in the Pitkäranta-Nietjärvi direction, his regiment stopped a massive attack of Soviet troops and stabilized the front line until the end of the war.

At 1943 in Äänislinna (conquered Petrozavodsk) were renamed a lot of streets. Among the new names were Kailankatu (Kailas Street), Simojoenkatu (Simojoki Street) and Heimosoturinkatu (Kinship Warrior Street).

© 1997–2021

heninen.netEnglish | Suomi
с 1997 годаТекстовый поиск     Фото-, видео- и аудиопоискНовое на сайте   Этот день в истории

Судьбы участников Олонецкого похода

Судьбы участников Олонецкого похода

Прискорбное воспоминание об Олонецком походе
Гибель лицеиста Юрьё Сааренпуу
Последнее письмо родным добровольца Виктора Эрвасти, приговорённого в Олонецкой Карелии к смертной казни
Ещё о прискорбном воспоминании об Олонецком походе
«Ещё о прискорбном воспоминании об Олонецком походе»
Смерть Юрьё Сааренпуу
Ещё немного ясности о расстреле Юрьё Сааренпуу
Зачастую реальность удивительнее вымысла
Описание России
Уроженец Хейнола погиб в Олонце
Бруно мёртв
Борец за свободу погиб в Олонецкой Карелии
Пленник Рахья
Погиб Элиас Симойоки
Батальон Хяме
В Олонецкой Карелии ранен житель города Хямеэнлинна
Павшие в Олонецкой Карелии и погребённые там финны

Финская освободительная война закончилась, в Хельсинки прошёл парад победы, бойцы возвратились домой. А весной 1919 года многим юношам, не успевшим из-за своего возраста принять участие в войне, представилась возможность отправиться в Олонецкий поход.

В силу запрета на набор в Олонецкий поход добровольцев призывного возраста большинству было от 16 до 20 лет, но были и более юные. По большей части это были представители учащейся молодёжи, но встречались и молодые рабочие и сыновья крестьян. Многие юноши принимали решение под влиянием сверстников, независимо от наличия либо отсутствия разрешения от родителей.

Судьбы участников Олонецкого похода сложились по разному. Учащийся лицея Юрьё Сааренпуу был, возможно безвинно, казнён своими. Ещё один лицеист – Вильо Хейнонен – попал в плен и оставался в безвестности на протяжении двух лет. Впоследствии он стал писателем и ректором лицея в Пори.

Жители Хейнола Бруно Шилдт и Ууно Салонен (будущий известный финский поэт Ууно Кайлас) были близкими друзьями. Во время Финской освободительной войны Бруно сражался на фронте, но Ууно остался дома. Поэтому Ууно не колебался, когда в 1919 году появилась возможность отправиться вместе с Бруно добровольцами в военную экспедицию в Олонецкую Карелию. Однако мать Бруно уговорила своего сына не уезжать и Бруно уже отменил отъезд, но Ууно сумел убедить его, что он не может отказаться.

23 мая 1919 года Ууно Салонен, Бруно Шилдт и его брат Лассе Шилдт отправились в Олонецкую Карелию в составе группы финских добровольцев. Юноши воевали в рядах первой роты второго батальона полка под командованием Пааво Талвела.

30 июня 1919 года Бруно Шилдт погиб во время патрулирования. Гибель Бруно явилась для Ууно сокрушительным ударом, память о котором не оставляла его в покое всю его оставшуюся жизнь. Даже в своём последнем письме, написанном на смертном одре, Ууно Кайлас упомянул, что ему всё ещё снился сон о Бруно Шилдте. Вина, которую испытывал Ууно Кайлас, получила отражение в его автобиографической новелле «Бруно мёртв».

Когда началась Финская освободительная война, Элиас Симелиус учился в 7-м классе лицея Оулу. Он записался в первую добровольческую фронтовую команду и прошёл с ней от Оулу до Пори и Тампере.

Спустя год, не дожидаясь завершения выпускных экзаменов, Элиас Симелиус вместе с шестью одноклассниками отправился вопреки воле своих родителей в Олонецкую Карелию. В то время он планировал военную карьеру. Но в деревне Улваны в его жизни произошёл поворотный момент. Элиас Симелиус угодил в плен к большевикам, однако сумел вырваться и сиганул с моста в ледяную воду реки Улванки. Плывя, он пообещал Богу, что, если тот его спасёт, то он начнёт изучать богословие и навсегда забудет о военной карьере.

Элиас Симелиус вернулся домой и приступил к учёбе в Хельсинкском университете. Скульптор Виктор Янссон выбрал его в качестве модели для памятников Свободы в Тампере и в Лахти, открытых в 1921 году.

В конце того же 1921 года из Восточной Карелии пришла информация о начавшемся там восстании и Элиас Симелиус присоединился к группе подрывников под командованием лейтенанта запаса Паули Марттина, задачей которой было перерезать линию Мурманской железной дороги (взорвать железнодорожный мост через реку Свирь). Однако диверсия не удалась, и группе пришлось повернуть назад.

В 1922 году Элиас Симелиус и его единомышленники основали Карельское академическое общество. В 1923 году он окончил Хельсинкский университет и был рукоположён в пасторы. В 1926 году он поменял фамилию на Симойоки. Элиас Симойоки проявил себя крайне правым политиком и с 1933 по 1939 год являлся членом парламента от партии Патриотическое народное движение.

С началом Зимней войны Элиас Симойоки добровольцем ушёл на фронт. Он стал армейским капелланом 39-го пехотного полка. Его жизнь оборвалась на льду Ладожского озера в заливе Койриноянлахти. Он отправился на ничейную полосу прекратить мучения раненой красноармейской лошади, пристрелил её и уже повернул обратно, когда попал под очередь вражеского пулемёта.

Илмари Рюткёнен также принял участие в Финской освободительной войне, сражался в Вилппула и Лемпяаля, затем в Саво и в окрестностях Лахти. Весной 1918 года он выпустился из лицея Хямеэнлинна и начал осенью учёбу в Высшем коммерческом училище, но уже в январе 1919 года отправился в качестве командира взвода на Эстонскую освободительную войну. 31 января 1919 года в бою за мызу Паю под городом Валга он был тяжело ранен пулемётной очередью противника. В этом же бою был смертельно ранен легендарный герой Эстонской освободительной войны Юлиус Куперьянов.

Тем не менее, уже в мае 1919 года Илмари Рюткёнен был готов отправиться в Олонецкий поход в качестве командира роты добровольческого батальона Хяме. В середине июня в Олонецкой Карелии он получил пулю в ногу.

По окончании соплеменных войн Илмари Рюткёнен стал кадровым офицером, принимал участие в Зимней войне, Войне-продолжении и Лапландской войне. Летом 1944 года подполковник Рюткёнен являлся командиром 44-го пехотного полка. В ожесточённых боях на направлении Питкяранта-Ниет-ярви его полк остановил массированную атаку советских войск и стабилизировал линию фронта до окончания войны.

В 1943 году в Яянислинна (покорённом Петрозаводске) были переименованы многие улицы. Среди новых названий были и Кайланкату (улица Кайласа) и Симойоэнкату (улица Симойоки) и Хеймосотуринкату (улица соплеменного воина).

© 1997–2021